Book Review: Disruption / Corruption by Jessica Shirvington

PicMonkey CollageTitle: Disruption / Corruption

Author: Jessica Shirvington

Format / Length: Paperback / 400 pages & 437 pages respectively

Publisher / Date Published: HarperCollins / April 1st 2014 & November 1st 2014 respectively

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Science-Fiction

Source: Won / Library

| Disruption & Corruption on Goodreads|

Description: What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?

Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loves most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it.

Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer – heir to the M-Corp empire – has become key to Maggie’s plan. But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin’s involvement destroy everything she’s fought for?

In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the most heartbreaking.


I’m going to tell you all a little secret right now.

I’ve been reading a lot of Aussie Fiction this year and last, and Jessica Shirvington has got to be my favourite. And while I love so many other Aussie authors out there, too — because, let’s face it, you’re all awesome — there is just something about Shirvington’s writing which you just want to read and read and read, and wait a second, is it three in the morning already!? I put off reading this duology for ages, even though I won a copy of the first book some time ago. And I don’t even know why. Probably because I kept reading so many stellar reviews of it, and I was afraid it wouldn’t live up to my expectations, maybe.

I shouldn’t have — but it. Was. Awesome.

I’m not sure how to review an awesome book — duology — like this, so I’m just going to list the things that were . . . yep, you guessed it: awesome. (I should really stop using this word.)

1. Our main character here, Maggie, is awesome kickass, sarcastic, and so, so loveable.

2. The romance. Slow-paced and wonderfully developed, I loved Quientin. Funnily enough it took me a little while to Quentin get on-board the Maggie-Quentin train, but once I did, I thought they made an awesome great couple.

3. GUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUS. He was an awesome fantastic side-kick whose quick banter with Maggie made me grin.

4. Science-fiction world with actually awesome good world-building. This is so one of my pet-peeves in YA Sci fi: I feel like a lot of the worlds given to us are underdeveloped. Not here! While Maggie’s world wasn’t too far off from our own, it was sci-fi enough to make things interesting.

5. THE WRITING, BABY, THE WRITING. I will literally read anything Jessica Shirvington writes. She writes in a practical matter, I suppose, but quietly emotive, too. In other words, awesome., she’s a really, really good writer.

And okay, so maybe I did guess every one of the plot twists . . . but who cares? YA needs more duologies.

So. To sum it up all nicely for you, this duology was


Questions for you! Who is your favourite Aussie author? And is it cruel of me to make you choose only one!? ;) Also, have I convinced you to read this duology?

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Disruption / Corruption by Jessica Shirvington

  1. I use the word awesome way too much, too, haha. Anyways, Disruption and Corruption seem like really awesome books. I don’t read enough sci-fi, even though I think it’s really awesome. I love when a book has really intricate, rich and generally awesome worldbuilding, because that’s what helps make a book awesome. Awesome writing is also a huge plus. And it’s awesome that this is a duology because I don’t see much of that.

    …Okay, I think I’m awesomed out for the day. :)

  2. I LITERALLY JUST FINISHED CORRUPTION AND I AM ABSOLUTELY OUT OF MY BRAIN WITH LOVE FOR THESE TWO BOOKS. I don’t even know why they hit me so hard but they totally did. I listened to book 1 on audio and, ahhh, I just LOVE Maggie! She’s such a good blend of kick-butt and feelings. And I love her character development.
    BUT GUS.
    OMG MY SWEET HORRIBLE GUS.

  3. YAY! So glad to see you loved these as well Kara – this is such a great duology, and it’s good that it could fit all the action and drama into two books instead of dragging out to three. In terms of favourite Aussie authors, Jessica Shirvington is definitely up there, but so is Jackie French, Rebecca James and Kate Forsyth as some of my top picks (though there are so many others to count!) :)

  4. OMG I LOVE JESSICA and I totally understand what you mean Kara. Her writing is so freaking addictive and I love how fast paced it is. Oh Gus, I love him so much *tear* So glad to hear you loved the duology, I think more authors need to do duologies instead of dragging out the story when it’s unncessary!

  5. Yesss so glad to hear you loved this duology! I actually marked it down for the predictability, but the characters were fantastic and I loved the banter between Gus and Maggie and their love/hate relationship. Quentin was sweet too, and the world building was done well! Wonderful review lovely.

Leave a Reply

