Book Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

20555453Title: Exquisite Captive

Author: Heather Demetrios

Format / Length: Paperback / 480 pages

Publisher / Date Published: Corgi Childrens / October 9th 2014

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy, Romance

Source: Library

| Exquisite Captive on Goodreads|

Description: A jinni of tremendous ancient power and Empress to Arjinna, Nalia was sold into slavery on the dark caravan, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their masters’ every command. She’d do anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. But freedom comes at a heavy price and danger is everywhere.

In this gorgeous fantasy debut, Heather Demetrios brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light.


Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios was a wonderful, sweeping fantasy that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Before I read this I came across several reviews where people either seemed to like it — or they didn’t. Me, though? I loved this. Well — most of it, anyway. If there was one thing that I wasn’t too fond of, it was the characters. They weren’t bad, or boring or anything . . . I just didn’t click with them like the way I wanted to.

But still, after I’d finished this I found myself longing for its sequel.

I can easily say that the two main strengths of the book was the writing, and the worldbuilding. I adored them both.

But from reading the reviews, these were two of the aspects that people didn’t seem that fond of. Because when you have such a sprawling, colourful world, then you need to spend the time explaining it. Which is fine. So, I wouldn’t personally call what was in Exquisite Captive info-dumping (I plan to talk about info-dumping later, in a separate discussion post), there were certainly a fair amount of explanations here and there. Sometimes, I felt like it was hard to grasp the complexity of the world the author created, but at the same time that made it easy to appreciate how much care and time the author took in crafting it.

And ohhh, the writing. I adored it so.

Beautiful, descriptive, and almost lyrical at some time, it was my sort of style, you know? Some readers like practical writing. I like lyrical writing. (Though I don’t mind a bit of both; really, whatever suits the story.) The author was writes in a wonderful way that grips the reader, and doesn’t let go. Couple that with the well-done worldbuilding, and an intriguing plot that touches on the dark side at some points, this was the sort of novel that was up my alley.

So okay, this might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I still encourage you to give you a chance.

I can’t wait for the sequel!


Lyrical writing, or practical writing? Which one do you prefer?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

  1. I think there are two different types of people when it comes to this book: people who either love it to pieces or people who hate it with a burning passion. To be honest, I probably would have liked it a lot more if the romance wasn’t so manipulative and seductive; but everything else about it – especially the writing and the world-building, both of which you’ve mentioned – were absolutely pheonominal. Thanks for sharing Kara, and fabulous review! <3

Leave a Reply

