Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I read mainly fantasy as a kid . . . so here we go!

1

1. The Alanna series by Tamora Pierce.

Still to this day one of my favourite series. Epic.

2. The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling.

Isn’t this going to be on most people’s list!?

3. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

One of the few children’s classics that I’ve read . . . and loved.

2

4. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer.

Clever, humours, and witty. Loved it so much.

5. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo.

If I was going in order, this book would’ve been second on my list, most likely. (After HP of course.) There is just something about it that I loved so much as a child.

6. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan.

Gah, Greek gods? Adventure? Witty, hilarious dialogue? Yes please.

3

7. North Child by Edith Pattou.

Sometimes titled “North” or “East” I think I read this grade . . . four or five? Anyway, I loved it.

8. Eragon by Christopher Paolini.

I remember I was so proud of myself for reading such a large book. I was quite young too!

9. Deltora Quest by Emily Rodda.

I’ve re-read and re-read and re-read these ones as a kid.

10. Daughter of the Flames by Zoë Marriott.

While I’ve never ventured into reading many others of her work, I do remember that this one surprised me. (In a good way.) I think I still have it somewhere, too.


What books are on your lists? Let me know!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit

  1. Some really good choices here! Definitely Harry Potter is on most people’s lists, and I had Artemis Fowl on mine too! Eragon (Inheritance) is still my all-time favorite epic fantasy series, but super happy to see it on a list! Bizarrely, I missed PJO when I was growing up, only read it recently, so that was a interesting experience…

    Thanks for sharing your list! ^_^

  2. Harry Potter and The Lightning Thief are definitely two of my favorite books – not just from childhood, but today as well. Both have such great messages and creative concepts and worlds that you just want to dive right into. Thanks for sharing Kara and, as always, fabulous choices! <3

  3. Alanna and Harry would have been on my list if I’d added the teen years! I also didn’t read Alice until I was older. I wish Kate DiCamillo and Rick Riordan were around when I was a kid!!! Oh, wow, I din’t know Edith Pattou’s book had so many titles! My copy is called NORTH. Ahhhh, Zoë Marriott is on your list!!! I love love love her. I highly recommend reading some of her other books. She’s evolved so much and gotten so good! I love her. And there’s a companion to this book now called FROSTFIRE!

Leave a Reply

