Book Review: Masquerade by Kylie Fornasier

22090536Title: Masquerade

Author: Kylie Fornasier

Format / Length: Paperback / 304

Publisher / Date Published: Penguin Australia / July 23rd 2014

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Historical

Source: Library

| Masquerade on Goodreads|

Rating: Really liked!

Description: It’s the Carnevale of 1750 and Venice’s ballrooms, theatres, palazzos and squares are filled with delicious gossip, devilish fun and dangerous games. In this glittering masked world, everyone has a secret…

Set in an age of decadence made famous by Casanova, Masquerade uncovers the secrets of seven teens, from the highest aristocrat to the lowest servant – their dreams, desires, loves, loyalties … and betrayals.

All the world’s a stage. Let the show begin.


DSC_0486This one was one of those books were, once finished, I asked myself, Why didn’t I read this sooner? Of course — I’d heard about Masquerade for quite some time now. Aussie author. Masks. Secrets. Veince. How could I not want to read something like that? Thankfully, despite the glowing reviews I’d read of it before hand, Masquerade did not disappoint.

I adored the multiple point of views . . . but in hindsight, they might not be for everyone.

Fun fact about me? I love multiple point of views. I write with them. I like reading them. And in Masquerade, there were plenty of them. The novel flicks back and forth between several point of views; to some, this might be considered choppy to some, but I thought the author handles them in a wonderful way that makes them appear seamless.

phantom of the opera animated GIF

And the wonderful thing about reading in more than one point of view? You get to learn something about the characters, more so than when you’re limited to the protagonists’s eye. Often throughout the novel I was given one view of a character only to have it turned on its head when I reached their point of view, and learned that there was more about them than I first realized. Taking a deeper look into the characters, I liked the most of them. (With a few obvious exceptions — say, Claudia’s mother. Obviously.) And with the PoVs that I weren’t overly fond of, the novel switched between them so often that it wasn’t much of a matter. There was enough drama and conflict between the characters for the novel to remain engaging — but thankfully, didn’t step over into that melodramatic side too often.

(BUT DAMN. DID THIS NOVEL GET INTENSE AT THE END OR WHAT?)

DSC_0488If you’re looking for a novel with a good writing-style, this is probably it. Descriptive, but not overkill. Enough to really visualize the gorgeous city that novel is set in a vivid, exquisite way, that’ll keep you turning the pages (and then, like me, you’ll turn the last page and have that terrible realization that you’ve reached the end.)

Also? I’m not entirely sure whether there will be a sequel — but damn, I’d SO buy it.


Masks! Secrets! Forbidden loves! Have you read Masquerade? Also: multiple point of views? How do you feel about them? Like them, dislike them? Or would you rather just  a story from one character’s point of view?

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Masquerade by Kylie Fornasier

  1. I’ve had this one sitting on my shelf for ages too Kara, so no doubt I’ll be wondering why I didn’t read it sooner too. It sounds so incredibly lavish and lovely, I love the setting and anything that features masquerade balls is a winner in my book. Thrilled that you really enjoyed it, I’ll move it up my list to read soon as well. Absolutely fabulous review <3

  2. Ooh, so glad you liked this one! It’s really hit-or-miss for me when it comes to multiple POVS. Eh, like in Game of Thrones I’m LOVING it, but in Masquerade it bothered me a bit. So I guess it depends on how invested I am in the character’s perspective? I think I like 1 POV best, but 2 or 3 is okay. xD 7 is….intense.

  3. I was one of the ones who often got frustrated/confused at the multiple point of views in this novel, I think I counted 8 or something? So glad to hear you ended up really enjoying it, the ending was definitely dramatic! Great review Kara.

  4. Wow – Masquerade must be one of those books that are filled with great parties and excess riches.
    Hmm…I like POVs but only when they’re used for effect – I don’t like them unnecessarily. Also pulling off POVs is very hard – Hosseini’s most recent work And the Mountains Echoed had LOTS of POVs and it was very annoying because there wasn’t enough time to connect with the character and the way they “speak”. It does get confusing that way…

  5. Great review Kara! The worldbuilding in this novel really drew me in with all the Venetian opulence and the masked balls. I liked how the multiple POV’s were handled as well and the writing style in general – it all worked well together.

Leave a Reply

