Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (57) . . . and what? No Stacking the Shelves!? Also, New Laptop!

Sunday weekly wrap up

  • You read that right. I have successfully managed to rein myself in this week and not buy a single book. Pretty sure I deserve to go to a library just for that. (I suspect a lot of this has to do with the fact that library opening hours were much limited this week due to the Easter holidays.)
  • I seriously cannot remember the last time my physical TBR shelf was THIS SMALL. It’s terrifying, so obviously I need to stock up on books ASAP.
  • This week has been a slooooow reading week. I only devoured three books this week. They were: A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young; Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett; and Death Sworn by Leah Cypess (which I adored the worldbuilding in this one and look forward to see how the characters, story and world grow in the sequel.)

PicMonkey Collage

  • What’s the one of the worst things you can imagine to happen to a writer? Yep, you guessed it. A laptop breaking down. And yep, you guessed it again — that happened to me this week. Buuuut, of course, like the self-confessed technology addict that I am, went out and bought another one. (There is no way I can live without a laptop!) This time, I opted for Apple, and got a MacBook Pro. (Spoiler alert: I LOVE IT.) GAH. I don’t even know where to begin with the reasons why I love it, it’s just. so. good.
DSC_0482

| Isn’t it beautiful and shiny!? |

  • And while I adore it so, it is going to take me some time to get used to. I’m so used to Windows computers/laptops, never having used anything else before, and Macs are entirely different.
  • Turns out, people are very on the fence about whether they prefer hardbacks and paperbacks. Still, paperback wins! Here are the results! (Personally I prefer a mixture.)

pollresults


Posted This Week —

Monday — Book Review: Masquerade by Kylie Fornasier

Tuesday — I Ask Bookworms One of the Most Difficult Questions They Can Be Asked (Paperback or Hardback?)

Friday — Friday Photography (13)


TELL ME: What’s been going on with you? Have you all had wonderful Easter breaks? Read any amazing books lately?

25 thoughts on “Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (57) . . . and what? No Stacking the Shelves!? Also, New Laptop!

  1. I LOVE MAC BOOK PROS. Like seriously, I think of my times as a Windows-user as “the dark ages”. Apples are soooo much smarter. Not to mention Pros are all, you know, shiny, and have lights under the keys and are fast. Ahem. XD My pro is like 7 months old now BUT I LOVE IT SO MUCH. Best computer decision ever.
    Ahem.
    Also, congrats on your teeny tiny TBR! XD Mine was horrifically small this week. Like, seriously I got it down to 4 books. So I panicked and now it’s up to a comfortable 9.

  2. AHA! That new laptop looks lovely! and I’m glad you’re loving it! Imagine all that fantastic writing you’re going to get done!
    Same, my tbr has never been so small before, I’m kind of feeling sad about it…….

  3. Kara, you have some serious self-restraint for not buying a single book this week. Teach me your ways – haha!

    And yeah for a new laptop! So glad to hear you’re liking it so far! xD

  4. Congratulations on the new laptop. it’s nice to get a new laptop. I’m glad you’re loving it. I’ve been curious about Death Sworn. I recently came across it and added it to my Goodreads. It looks and sounds really good.

  5. Good for you in cutting down your TBR! Mine is still towering over me…I hope to make it just a hill instead of a mountain soon. Ooh nice new laptop! I’ve heard such good things about MacBooks but am scared that it would be really hard to get used to after only ever using Windows!

  6. MACS ARE AWESOME! This is coming from someone who used to be an Apple hater, then got herself a Macbook Pro and fell in love with it after the first 10 minutes. Isn’t it just so easier and so shinier and so much faster?? The only downside is it doesn’t have much games. I bought a smaller Windows laptop just to play, but yes, MACBOOKS ALL THE WAY. Mine is three years old now and is sooo slow, though, but it’s my fault :( I was so desperate to play games on it that I installed a virtual machine that took majority of the memory, and having two OS running at the same time was apparently akin to computer suicide lol. I may get an iMAC later this year so i’m looking forward to that as well!

    I wish my TBR would get smaller. It feels like it’s only purpose is to make me feel “I NEED MORE BOOKS”.

    Faye at The Social Potato

  7. My Easter break was wonderful thank you! I didnt read any book but that’s ok. My eyes needed a break :D Your laptop looks so pretty and shiny.

  8. Your mac looks gorgeous! The poll quite obviously knows what it’s on about ^.^
    I haven’t been reading that much this holiday but I’ve only got a couple of months of exam season left until a long and anticipated break!

  9. Ooh, lovely new lappy Kara, I love when they’re new, no crumbs stuck under your keys and the screen is lovely and clean. A Want So Wicked, is that the same Suzanne Young of The Program? I’m on a buying ban at the moment too, and I’ve been pretty good so far. But it’s so hard to walk past a bookshop and not go in. I just want to buy everything.

    How have you managed so far?

Leave a Reply

