Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (58) & Stacking the Shelves (38) Minnow Bly, Daredevil, and I Break My Book-Borrowing Ban (Which, Let’s Face it, Wasn’t Going to Last Long Anyway)

Sunday weekly wrap up

  • Autumn is slowly, slowly arriving here, so within the next few weeks you’ll see a autumn leaf-inspired Friday Photography.
  • Books read this week: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares; Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard; What the Spell by Brittany Geragotelis; Renegade by J.A. Souders; Monstrous Affections edited by Kelly Link; The Ice Dragon
    by George R.R. Martin; The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes.

booksreadthisweek

  • I just need to spend a moment outlining the awesoneness that was The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly. Guys. I cannot recommend this book enough. I’ll review it closer to the release date — but god, it was so. Good. Haven’t heard of it? Check it out here. I devoured this book in only a couple of days.
  • I completely binge-watched the first half of Daredevil. A Marvel / Netflix production, I absolutely love it so far. Usually vigilante storylines don’t appeal to me. But I LOVE THIS.
  • I also watched the first episode of season 5 of Game of Thrones and am debating whether to watch anymore. I adore the show but am terrified it’s going to spoil something for the books! (WELL. That’ll be a first.)
  • And . . . like the title suggests, there was a lot of books involved this week.

STSmall_thumb[2]

This is the meme where you can highlight books you’ve bought/borrowed/gifted/received for review. You can read more on the meme and how to get involved here!

FOR REVIEW

DSC_0590

  • The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

BORROWED

DSC_0542

  • A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford
  • The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
  • Stolen by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston
  • Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep
    DSC_0550
  • The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose
  • Autumn Roseby Abigail Gibbs
  • Sbariel by Garth Nix

In other news . . .

Another ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Trailer was released . . . and I kinda love it. What do you think? Will you go watch it?

First ‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’ trailer was released and I have to confess I’m not a fan of it. Now, if it were Semi-Colon v Em Dash, then I’d totally go see it. (But REALLY. Shouldn’t they be . . . I don’t know, saving the world together?? Not against each other?? Someone please explain.)


On the Blog . . .

On TUESDAY I shared my favourite quotes from books. Which, let’s be honest, mainly consisted of Harry Potter and A Song of Ice and Fire. WEDNESDAY I blogged about ways to motivate yourself as a writer — which doesn’t even have to apply to only writers. Anything, really. And on FRIDAY I shared some more of my photography.


This week was all about breaking my book-borrowing ban. Which was wonderful. How many books are on your current TBR list? What do you think of the trailers above? Think you’ll go see either/any of them? Also, how many of you have watched/will watch Daredevil? Do you love it as much as me!?

31 thoughts on “Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (58) & Stacking the Shelves (38) Minnow Bly, Daredevil, and I Break My Book-Borrowing Ban (Which, Let’s Face it, Wasn’t Going to Last Long Anyway)

  1. So good to hear you loved The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly! I really can’t wait to start it now, it looks fascinating. Hope you have a great week Kara :)

  2. Ahh The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly looks so fantastic!! So glad you loved it. :) I don’t even bother putting bans on myself anymore because they never work out. And my parents are way too lax on me, so they let me slack off when I tell them I’m on a ban. Heh. ;)

  3. Ooo, I wanna read the Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly NOW! I was thinking of requesting a copy but I didn’t. WHY LIFE WHY?! But I’m looking forward to all of your autumn pictures. It’s going to be an awesome season of taking photos. I keep seeing tress and going, ‘damn, why didn’t I bring my camera?”

    • Oh gosh, why did you not request it!? Make sure that when it’s out you get a copy!! It is an awesome season for taking photos indeed. Yep — that is what I’m like ALL THE TIME. So now I’ve taken to just lugging my camera everywhere . . . even if I think I won’t need it. You never know what photo opportunity might arise itself!

  4. I’ve been trying to read The Here and Now for months but review copies get in the way. Did you enjoy it? I’m hoping to read it soon.
    I love the new Star Wars trailer. I think this movie is going to be awesome and I can’t wait to watch it.

  5. I’m not a fan of the Batman v Superman trailer as well, I didn’t like Man of Steel but I’m a huge Batman fan, I just don’t know. Great to hear that you really enjoyed Minnow Bly, I’ve heard really great things! YES TO DAREDEVIL how freaking awesome is it. I’m kind of afraid of having it end, what will I do with my life afterwards?

  6. Congrats on breaking the ban! I have thirty five books on my TBR (but possibly more…there’s a lot of books in our house that I haven’t read sometime in the far and distant future…

  7. Wow, you certainly broke that ban! I can’t wait until closer to the Minnow Bly release so I can preorder. It’s one of my more anticipated reads, it sounds incredible! YAY AUTUMN! I love the colours of the changing season and hope the rain clears up long enough for you to get out there and take some snaps for this week.

    Hubby is super excited about Star Wars *whispers* I’ve never seen any of the movies. I’m too cool for that nerdary :D

  8. I have to admit….I haaaate that Batman v Superman trailer. But then, I don’t know whether I’m just notoriously biased because a) I’m a Marvel fangirl, and b) I really really REALLY love Christian Bale as Batman and I don’t waaaanna watch this new dude. >_< SO YEAH. But seriously the trailer didn't even indicate what the plot was going to be. 0-0 Not impressed. heh.

    Yay for breaking book bans! XD I'm not on a strict ban but I WAS trying to whittle my tbr down so I could not feel pressured when I start writing. Ha. Ha ha. no. That blew up in my face. XD But I still have a mountain of delicious books and I'm excited!!

  9. Oooh, breaking a book ban XD Sounds like life is back to book buying madness and fun then, huh? And the Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly sounds so good *whispers* The title rhymes too.

    The first time a TV show is actually spoiling something for the books….yeahh, I feel you >.< We only need to have a look at Percy Jackson to see how disastrous the movies turned out ot be lol :P

  10. I’ve been quite looking forward to watching Daredevil! I love anything to do with Marvel/DC haha- I’m quite the fan of The Flash/Arrow. The Batman v Superman trailer was such a tease! But not sure about Batman’s voice- it sounds weirdly robotic.

    On another note, Age of Ultron has been released!! Probs going to go see it this weekend. EXCITED.

Leave a Reply

