Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (59) & Stacking the Shelves (39) Storms, Books, and Murphy’s Law

Sunday weekly wrap up

  • Murphy’s Law: Anything that could go wrong will go wrong. Or, as I found: “The moment you look away from the sky, a shooting star will appear.” — Murphy’s Law. (Not sure if there’s someone in particular who said this? Let me know.) I’m the sort of photographer that will usually bring her camera most place. But the one, one, one time that I don’t, I happen to stumble across three peacocks wandering around. And of course, as I didn’t bring my camera, no pictures. Sigh.

books-read-this-week

  • Books read this week: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger, Winterkill by Kate A. Boorman, and The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. Okay… so maybe a little bit less than I usually read. But the best read this week was The Darkest Part of the Forest — I LOVED IT.
  • Currently reading: Breaking the Rules by Katie McGarry.
  • There has been a lot of stormy/rainy area here where I like; and, in some places, have been quite damaging. (All it causes here were a few ruffled trees.)

waterdrop


STSmall_thumb[2]

This is the meme where you can highlight books you’ve bought/borrowed/gifted/received for review. You can read more on the meme and how to get involved here!

DSC_0563

  • The Maze Runner [Film]
  • Frostfire by Amanda Hocking
  • Breaking the Rules by Katie McGarry
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (heard so many great things from this one!)

DSC_0542

  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • Those Above by Daniel Polansky
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer
  • For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
  • Silver by Talia Vance

On the Blog . . .

Not much going on here on the blog this week. But on WEDNESDAY I talked about Heroes & Villains… and found myself talking more about the villains side of things. Keep an eye out, because there will be a follow-up post next week! On FRIDAY there was another edition of Friday Photography, where I posted some of my favourite autumn-related photos I’ve taken. Hopefully there will be more in the coming weeks!


Now it’s your turn! How has your week been? Also, link me to your recent stacks of newly acquired books! I must see all the pretties.

24 thoughts on “Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (59) & Stacking the Shelves (39) Storms, Books, and Murphy’s Law

  1. I’m reading I’ll Give You The Sun at the moment, and I have to say I’m really enjoying it! Already 150 pages in and there’s so much going on already, and I love the twin relationship with all its complexities going on. Hope you like Red Queen – it seems to have gotten a very mixed reaction from the bookish community, though I really enjoyed it. Hope you have a lovely week Kara :)

  2. There was recently a storm here in our area too, but no damage done, thankfully. :) That photo is gorgeous, by the way! I’ve only read two books from your haul (Red Queen, which I hated, and For Darkness Shows the Stars, which I enjoyed), so I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on those. Have a fabulous week, Kara! :)

  3. Peacocks? Three of them? :O
    Ah, dang it. But I love rainy weather (ish) so that photo was brilliant. Can’t wait for a review of I’ll Give You the Sun!

  4. I’ll GIVE YOU THE SUN! I’ve heard so many positive reviews about it, I hope you enjoy it! Red Queen, keen to hear what you thought, there’s so many mixed reviews on that one (and I am firmly in the camp of – it’s alright)

  5. The storm was so bad were I live – thankfully not for my house though. My mum and sisters all lost electricity for days and one of my sisters still have electricity off now. There are trees everywhere! Glad to hear you didn’t get any damage.

    I loved The Darkest Part of the Forest too! I loved how different it felt from everything else. And I have a soft spot for fae.

    You’ve borrowed some great books, hope you enjoy them all. Red Queen was awesome.

  6. Oh oh I hope you love I’ll Give you the Sun BECAUSE IT’S INCREDIBLE. SO GO ON. JUST GO LOVE IT. I’LL WAIT. **taps foot impatiently** Ohhh The Maze Runner movie is GOOD. Although I’m not sure if it actually was that good or if the cast was just so adorable I was blindsided into loving it 100%. Pfft. I don’t even care. They were all so adorable. AHEM. I love that leafy picture! Apparently northern NSW is getting the rain now? boo. I don’t want it. Take it back. ;(

  7. That damn feeling when you forget your camera! PEACOCKS! Ohhh, I’m so upset for you. I bet your heart just tore in two. Okay, I’m not making you feel better but DAMN!!!
    Ooooo, I really want to read I’ll give you the sun. I’ve just been hearing loads about it. Can’t wait to hear what you think about it.

    • OH MY GOSH YOU’RE MAKING IT SO MUCH WORSE. MY HEAAAAAAAART. Haha… Now at least I know I MUST bring my camera with me everywhere! I’ll Give You the Sun looks SO good. And yeah I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about it too.

  8. I read the first book in the Etiquette and Espionage series recently and found it to be very different from anything i’d read before. And WOW what a library haul! Red Queen was great – hope you enjoy it!
    Your pictures are always so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

