Fairest || Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, Who’s the Evilest of Them All?

fairest-marissa-meyerTitle: Fairest

Author: Marissa Meyer

Format / Length: Paperback / 208 Pages

Publisher / Date Published: Feiwel & Friends / January 27th 2015

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Fairytale Retellings, Science Fiction

Source: Library

| FAIREST on Goodreads |

Description: Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.


I wish I’d read this book before I’d embarked on my Heroes & Villains mini blog series.

(Read Part One here, and Part Two here)

DSC_0562

Here’s why: because Fairest, itself, is a deliciously villainous story, and embodies everything that I talked about in those previous posts, portraying a story entirely from a villain’s point of view. If you’ve read Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles, then you’ll know of Levana. And you’ll hate her. But you know what? After this, you might even start feeling a little — dare I say it? — sorry for her. (And here, I stress the whole “feeling sorry for her” should not be mistaken with liking her. Because you won’t.) You will, I think, be given a deeper look into the psyche of a woman who’s villainous role in the main series makes life for our characters a living hell.

Here’s why you should be reading Fairest/The Lunar Chronicles

  • Because it’s a brilliantly crafted, riveting story that’ll keep you engaged from page one.
  • It’s a fairytale retelling set in — wait for it — space. What’s not to love about  that? If you’re like me then you’ll also be slightly obsessed with every fairytale retelling there is, but especially ones as engaging as this.
  • I asked myself why this was such an engaging, easy-to-read novel, and I came back with two reasons. One, it’s so well written. Beautifully descriptive with subtle, elegant worldbuilding that sets the scene wonderfully. And two, the characters. They. Are. Fantastic. Like I said, we get to see a different side to Levana in this novel. Marissa Meyer offers a more vulnerable, unsure Levana — and at the beginning, believe it or not, she’s not the power-hungry tyrannical ruler that we see in The Lunar Chronicles. She’s vulnerable and a little bit more idealistic than we’d expect.
  • You’ll pity Levana… but you’ll probably end up being creeped out by her. Fairest is not a love story, but there is romance — and when I say “romance”, I say Levana’s twisted version of love. And I won’t say any more; I’ll let youDSC_0568 figure out how the story unfolds, but it’s just another stepping stone that made Levana who she is in the main series. Her character development is FANTASTIC, people. (Which is an incredible feat, mind you, considering the 222-page length of this.)
  • Oh. And have I mentioned this was brilliant?

A story of unrequited love, Fairest was a well-written and engaging prequel that fans of The Lunar Chronicles will adore.


Now I leave it up to you: Do you think there should be more books/prequels written from the point of views of villains? Would you read them? What villains would you like to read about?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


18 thoughts on “Fairest || Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, Who’s the Evilest of Them All?

  1. I didn’t feel sorry for her by the end, that’s for sure! I CANNOT BELIEVE SHE DID THAT. GOSH. I think I’m scarred for life now. And yet I’d still love more books like this…call me crazy :P

  2. I am so curious about this one now! I love the Lunar Chronicles, but I wasn’t sure if I’d be reading Fairest since I don’t like Levana at all. I think I’ll definitely have to read this before Winter comes out after reading your review, though. The “romance” sounds especially interesting. I want to know Levana’s version of love is, lol! Superb review :)

  3. I LOVED FAIREST. Although I thought before I read it that Levana would turn out to be one of those misunderstood-trying-to-be-good-or-get-revenge villains. Then after I read it I was like, “Nope. She’s just CRAY.” That whole “romance” thing was really weird, and I felt sorry for the guy.
    Great review!

  4. I would die for a prequel from the Darkling’s POV (The Grisha Trilogy) but I also want to see a prequel for Nikolai who is not villainous at all haha. I think if the villains are really complex or just plain mysterious like Levana then a novella never hurts.

    I’m halfway through this and I’m glad Marissa Meyer released it because my obsession with the Lunars is neverending.

  5. I agree with everything you mentioned! It’s quite rare that I love a book with so many characters, but the writing in this book and the fantastic characters themselves were so lovable and easy to get into.

    I’ve actually already had this for ages… and I still haven’t read it. D: I don’t even know why! I totally want to get into Levana’s insane mind, and to see the way she perceives things. I’m excited to… feel sorry for her, haha.

    Fantastic review, Kara! <3

  6. Omg I’m so excited to read this one! I’m about halfway through Cress so as soon as I finish that – on with this one I go! It looks great and I’m so curious to learn more about Levana.

    Nice review, girl <33

  7. So I’m pretty sure that I’m the only one here that has not had the chance to read any of these books yet even though I have seen them FLYING around the reading works. Must. Go. Get. Them. So I can at least see what all the hype is about, don’t ya think?

  8. Yes, absolutely yes to more prequels/side stories of major characters. I understand that side stories don’t always work, but I think they’re brilliant in rounding out a certain character too. Fairest reminds me a lot of Once Upon A Time, the TV show. I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

