In Which the Cold Arrives || Top Ten Books I’ll Be Reading This Winter

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was actually “Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This Summer or Ten Books I Think Make Great Beach Reads” . . . but, well, it’s not summer here in Australia — so I thought I’d change this week’s list.

DSC_0570


ttt1

1. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Gah, that cover <3

2. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver.

I’ve heard good things about this, so I’m eager to see what I’ll think of it.

3. The Forever of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen.

So while I confess this genre isn’t my favourite out there, I’m interested to see what will happen with Ella and Micha’s story next.

4. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

Gosh, haven’t I heard wonderful things about this!?

ttt2

5. Frostfire by Amanda Hocking.

Currently reading this one at the moment!

6. After the End by Amy Plum.

The premise of this story sounds AMAZING. I’m so interested to see where the author will take it.

7. The Kiss of Deception.

Because fantasy.

8. A Cold Legacy Megan Shepherd.

Ahhh, how fitting this one just happens to be on this list. And okay, so it doesn’t actually snow where I live. But still. Fitting!

ttt3

9. Breaking Nova by Jessica Sorensen.

I’m on a Sorensen roll, apparently.

10. The Treatment by Suzanne Young.

I loved the first — can’t wait to wrap up the series. (and read The Remedy.)


Those are the books I plan on curling up with a book this winter (with, of course, a mug of hot chocolate.) What will you be reading this summer/winter?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


38 thoughts on “In Which the Cold Arrives || Top Ten Books I’ll Be Reading This Winter

  1. Ah, Red Queen was amazing. And After the End was really good, although the ending was a little…odd. Happy reading! I, personally, am really looking forward to reading The Orphan Queen and some other books.

  2. YES to curling up with books and hot chocolate…ultimate dream this evening, actually, once I eat the internet for a bit. heeh. I hope you enjoy Red Queen. INTENSE COVER LOVE FOR THAT ONE. And Vanishing Girls and Since You’ve Been Gone are both top favourites of mine. Emily = perfection. Ohh, I want to read Kiss of Deception one day. ONE DAY. *glares at TBR*

  3. I agree that the premise of After the End is really intriguing. Most of the reviews I’ve read of it have described it as kind of mediocre-ish, but I still want to read it. I hope you enjoy reading Red Queen. For me it was a whirlwind of plot twists, which made it very enjoyable.

  4. Love your picks! I had been on a Sorensen kick an think I burned myself out but the Nova series was one of my favorites and I still have a bunch of her books on my kindle. I have also heard disappointing things about Vanishing Girls but I love Lauren Oliver and have to read for myself. Since You’ve Been Gone is one I am so edited for but can’t decide if I want to do the audio or not. Great list!

  5. Red Queen is so good, I hope you enjoy it. Vanishing Girls was pretty good too. This looks like a great set of books to read this winter. I really want to read Kiss of Deception, it sound so good.

  6. GAH! So noowww I want hot chocolate to curl up to my book with. *Glares at you* tee hee not really. But now like I really want hot chocolate. I loved all of your pics for this week! And some I’m even going to add to Goodreads!:)

  7. It’s already Winter in Aussie? That’s insane! Although summer is just about to end for us here too. :)

    Erm, I hope you like Red Queen more than I did! I may or may not have ranted about it… oops. I’ve heard awesome things about Vanishing Girls, though. I wasn’t sure if it was my cup of tea, but the positive reviews are taunting me!

    We should buddy read Since You’ve Been Gone! But school is coming up soon with me so I’m not sure when I’ll get to read it. :(

    After the End was so unique! I had trouble connecting to the main characters but the story gets an A+!

    THE TREATMENT, YAY! I’ve heard a lot of people say they didn’t like the insane amount of drama in it, but I’m an angst lover, so I enjoyed it myself. ;)

  8. Great list!
    Red Queen was great and I hope you enjoy it! I love love love Since You’ve Been Gone! I also have really been wanting to read Vanishing Girls. I was supposed to read it this month. whoops.
    After The End! I’ve wanted to read it since it first came out, but somehow it has slipped past me. I really need to read that soon!
    I’ve also heard great things about Kiss Of Deception and I can’t wait to read it. As soon as i’m in a fantasy mood, i’ll be picking that up!
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

  9. Wah?! That cover of Frostfire is way different compared to the cover of Frostfire that I read! I do agree that the series overall is very… winter-y. You can even “feel” it in the writing itself. The sequel to that one is also pretty awesome (I recently rated it 4 stars!) and YES to Vanishing Girls @___@ That one made me cry D: Which is awesome if you think about it because 1.) it’s a psychological thriller; 2.) A PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THAT MAKES YOU CRY?! Come on, don’t tell me you’re not intrigued yet! ;)

    Faye at The Social Potato

  10. I’ve really enjoyed the Frostfire series so far, it’s pretty mild which really suits me and the coldness of their landscape just seeps through the pages. I haven’t had much luck with Jessica Sorensen beyond the first book in both her series sadly. It just feels like the same book over and over again. I was so desperate to read After the End too, until I started seeing reviews for it and not being what I thought it would have, a dystopian slash apocalyptic. Really looking forward to seeing what you make of it Kara. And RED QUEEEEEEN! I loved the pants off of that book. OHHHH! Read it next. Please please. I’ll sit here and wait frowning until you do.

    Awesome list this week Kara, so many lovely reads! <3

  11. Ooh Red Queen is a perfect read for the winter! I read it back in December and oh gosh, the chills from the book definitely mirrored the ones you’d get outside! Kiss of Deception is wonderful, and Vanishing Girls is another great one to read in the winter. Enjoy!

  12. I’ve been wanting to read Since You’ve Been Gone for the longest time now! I just adore the cover and I really need to read a Morgan Matson book. I absolutely adored Red Queen and The Treatment!

  13. Omg I loved Kiss of Deception. I bought the hardback, and without a doubt, it is one of the most beautiful books I own. Can’t wait to buy the sequel in hardback! Those covers…
    Also the story is amaze

Leave a Reply

