Books That Would Be Epic on Screen || Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

CONFESSION: I LOVE book-to-film adaptations, and here are some books that I think would make fantastic TV shows.

pic1

1. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stievater.

So many characters and plots to explore, oh, it would be BRILLIANT if done correctly.

2. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

Honestly, I think we’re in need with a TV show like these books.

3. Mythos Academy by Jennifer Estep.

Snarky dialogue + mythology = WINNER.

pic2

4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.

It failed completely as a movie . . . but I think it could be good as a show.

5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

AGAIN. So much to explore. So many great concepts!

6. Every Breath by Ellie Marney.

How GREAT would this be as show!?

pic3

7. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

This. Would. Be. EPIC.

8. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner.

Wasn’t this optioned for a show years ago? Not sure, but it would be WONDERFUL.

9. The Selection by Kiera Cass.

This was recently optioned into a film, but, honestly, I think it’d work well as a show. (Which I know it’s tried but never went to air.)

10. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

 ADMIT IT. This would make an epically creepy show, right!?


What books would you LOVE to see as a show, or a movie?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


42 thoughts on “Books That Would Be Epic on Screen || Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as TV Shows

  1. DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE YESSSSS. I didn’t LOVE the book but I think it would be amazing to see it on-screen. Even as a movie, really. OH and Every Breath as well, yes, totally. *nods* That would be awesome.

  2. Oh god, Every Breath would be SUCH a great show! The cast would have to be really, really good though, you know? And yes, The Raven Boys would be so perfect as a movie ^W^

    I’d just love to see A Series of Unfortunate Events as that TV show that they were supposed to become. That series just has so much potential to become even GREATER. Why can’t anyone see that? *wails*

    Awesome list!

  3. Omg, yes: The Raven Boys, DOSAB, The Lunar Chronicles. I would love to see these brought to the screen! They’d need to be done right, though and I’d worry that they wouldn’t be. I think DOSAB movie rights were bought.

  4. I had Every Breath on my list as a tv show too – it would be so good if done right.
    I also had The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer on my list.
    I worry about Daughter of Smoke and Bone because, as you’ve said, there’s just so much in it and I feel like they’d cut too much!
    I also agree with your choices of The Raven Boys and The Selection.

  5. *hyperventilates* ZOMG WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF EVERY BREATH AS A TV SERIES?!! It’d be like the teenage-YA-Sherlock-Holmes series and goodness knows we need another one. We do. I’m going to cry but we really really doooooooo. (I just finished a season of Elementary so I maybe have a lot of Sherlocky feels right now.) I’d like to see DoSaB on screen, but so much of that awesomeness is in the prose, right? I wonder if that’d translate well. *chews nails nervously* YES TO THE RAVEN BOYS.

    • YES, YES WE DO. Oh gosh I SO need to watch Elementary… because you know, who knows how long it’s going to be before we get another Sherlock series. xD Yeah, I know what you mean with Smoke and Bone. It *could* be good… but her prose was so beautiful.

  6. I love your choices The Raven Boys would be so incredible if they did it well. And Daughter of Smoke and Bone! And Every Breath! So many great picks and so many wonderful books that I can’t believe that they haven’t turned them into shows or movies already!
    My TTT

  7. LOL…I think 99% of people who have done TTT this week have put Cinder on their lists. Not that I blame them. ;) It would definitely be amazing on screen with all its wonderful characters and romance and whatnot.

    And These Broken Stars – YESSS!! Could you imagine the set or the special effects for that? *hyperventilates* We need this.

    Wonderful choices Kara and fabulous post!

  8. I agree about Vampire Academy and These Broken Stars, they would make making movies especially with the paranormal and science fiction aspects. Great picks!

  9. I side more with books to movies. But yes to The Darkest Minds. Yes to Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Yes to Cinder. And yes to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (but, more specifically, The Evolution of Mara Dyer, which would make the greatest and scariest psychological thriller ever).

  10. EVERY BREATH! Now THAT I’d watch religiously. A cool couple of smarter than average teens solving weekly crimes. I’d absolutely LOVE to DOSAB as a full length movie, I don’t think a TV series would really do it justice. Imagine that though, it was be epic. Seeing Prague, the landscape, the fantasy elements and the beauty! I think we need to campaign for it.

  11. I also want Vampire Academy to be rebooted to a TV show… hopefully it will cleanse our minds of that awful, awful movie with old Dimitri and his greasy hair x_x (I recently read and reviewed this with a comic review! IT WAS HILARIOUS MAKING IT BECAUSE I WAS BASICALLY RAGING THROUGHOUT). Now, Lunar Chronicles would make a GOOD series! As long as they don’t rush it, please.

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

