2015 Reading Goals | How Am I Going?

My 2015 Reading Goals It’s the middle of the year! Huzzah! And hence, here is my mid-year checkup on how I’m going with my goals. (you can view the original goal post here.)

1. Read one hundred books.

YEP! Done. My revised goal for the rest of the year is to read 200 books.

2. Read at least ten books by Aussie authors.

Okay, let’s see how I’ve done . . . Sabriel by Garth Nix | Masquerade by Kylie Fornasier | Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven | Shimmer by Paula Weston | Impulse by Vanessa Garden | The Minnow by Diana Sweeney | Faking It by Gabrielle Tozer | State of Grace by Hilary Badger (I THINK she’s Aussie) | Corruption by Jessica Shirvington | The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil | The Sky so Heavy by Claire Zorn | Eleven! Revised goal: another ten books by Aussie authors. Any to recommend? 

3. Try branching out into other categories: Eg, read more New Adult. 

I’m not good at branching out, okay!? I have my comfort zones when it comes to reading . . . and they’re hard to get out of.

4. Read some classics!

… I’ve read one. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkein. I do intend to devour his other novels later this year.

5. Give non-fiction books a proper chance.

Yeah .  . . No.

6. Pick up a book I usually wouldn’t.

The Falconer by Elizabeth May. Not fond of steampunk at ALL — but I loved this novel.


So… I’m GETTING THERE. And hey — I still have half a year left, right? Over the next few weeks I’ll revise my writing and blogging goals. Did YOU make goals for this year? How are you going? Are you floundering a little bit (like me?) Or are you flying? … Metaphorically.

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


44 thoughts on “2015 Reading Goals | How Am I Going?

  1. Ohhh I loved Tolkins other books, I did find it hard to get in to because of the language. But once I did, I absolutely loved them!

    Give non-fiction ago. I am a massive fan of non-fiction. I think the first non-fiction book I read was Mao’s Last Dancer :)

    Tim Winton is an Aussie :P Haha read some of his books, if you aren’t sick of his books from high school reading :)

  2. I’m SOOO behind on my goals it’s not even funny. I haven’t been able to do a lot of reading and feel like such a total loser. Plus the books I’ve been reading haven’t been holding my attention. I need to branch out of my reading configuration zone because like you its hard to branch out.

  3. Wow, way to go! My goal this year is to read 150 books, and I’m already 1 book behind! I used to read like a superwoman but this has proven to be difficult recently XD How do you guys do it?! Hoooooow?! Amazing job! Although, yeah, I probably wouldn’t read non-fiction, either. It’s not about them, it’s really just about me – they’re just not my thing. ^^;;

    Faye at The Social Potato

  4. Congrats on your Goodreads goal. I want to read 200 this year two but I’m a book behind. :(

    Some good Aussie authors: Rebecca James (Cooper Bartholomew is Dead), John Marsden (Tomorrow, When the War Began) and Lili Wilkinson (A Pocketful of Eyes). Happy reading!

  5. This is REALLY good. I’ve only read like 45 but I’m pretty happy. I had a huge lag in May because of all the work. I’m also not really into reading Canadian fiction but it’s really good that you’re reading books from your own country. I want to read some Australian fic too! I’m going to use your reads if that’s alright?

  6. You’ve read 100 books already?! And now you’ve upped your goal to 200???!!! I’m currently at 78 books this year. Which is beyond fabulous for me as it’s only the first week of June. But good luck reaching 200! I’m also failing at reading classics this year. -_- Once my ARC pile gets smaller in a few months (I’ve been really good lately at not requesting everything I see, haha) I think I’m going to prioritize books I want to reread as well as classics I’ve never gotten to.

  7. You’ve done so well, Kara, congratulations on reading 100 books already this year. We have some great authors in Australia don’t we? I’m about to read Pieces of Sky by Trinity Doyle (I was actually friends with her in high school) It is meant to be really good. Have you read Jaclyn Moriarty – A corner of white is a great read. Leann Hall and Steph Bowe are great authors too.

  8. I’m terrible. Apart from the Goodreads challenge, I never set ANY blogging goals. Mostly because I know I won’t stick to them. Although I originally set my goal at 150 this year, I had to revise it to 120 within a few days, much more achievable. 100 books already, absolutely incredible Kara! <3

  9. 100 BOOKS?! *hides the 30-something books I read out of my goal to read 80* ;_; haha well done though!

    New Adult and non-fiction books are also my fatal poison so I usually don’t pursue them. There are some NA that aren’t fatal though like The Addicted series by Krista & Becca Ritchie but the rest is a painful blur.

  10. Amazing job on your Goodreads goal! *applause* My goal for this year is 150 books, and i’m currently slightly behind. I know i’ll have more time for reading over the summer, though, so I plan to catch up then.
    I don’t blame you, It’s hard for me to branch out sometimes too. I just recently read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover, which was new for me because it’s NA, and I LOVED it! If you’re looking to still complete the Non-Fiction goal, i’d recommend Popular by Maya Van Wagenen. It’s such a cute memoir and it doesn’t even feel like you’re reading non-fiction.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    • Thank you! Ahh, summer reading is excellent. I’m sure you’ll have plenty of time to catch up. Ooh, I really want to read that Colleen Hoover book. Thanks for the non fic recommendation, too. I’ll have to look that one up.

  11. 100 books already?!!!! You’re on fire (not literally of course because books and fire do not blend)! That’s insane, but very awesome. Reading outside of your comfort zone definitely pays off. I’ve been trying to do that the past few years and I feel like my reading experience has been enriched:)

    If you’re having a hard time getting into non-fiction, I would recommend starting with memoirs. They have non-fiction elements, but read a lot like a novel since they follow someone’s life story.

  12. Wow, good job Kara! You’re going so well. I don’t think I could bear to see how many Australian authors I’ve read this year- the number is almost certainly in the minus range. I think I’ve got about 30 books to read for my challenge of 100 still, but I’m doing so much better than last year, when I was always 7 books behind. Always being around 10 ahead is glorious. And it’s so great you’re managing to keep up to date on your reading (mostly!) and still get on with your writing work. xx

  13. I seriously need to revisit my goals. >__> YAY FOR AUSSIE BOOKS THOUGH! OH. And I’ve actually finished up quite a few series this year, too, which i’m happy about since I usually am a series-abandoner. XD

    • Oh dear…like half my comment is missing. :O I have no idea how that happened. ANYWAY. I think I said something intelligent. WHO KNOWS. But congrats on your goals and already finishing your reading ones and having to expand. THAT IS AWESOME. XD

  14. Woah! You’ve done absolutely amazing! I can’t even imagine reading 100 books. I’m doing absolutely terribly with reading this year. I’ve read about 9 books all year and 8 books behind schedule uuggh. I’ve been trying to put school first but I’m still not doing as well as I’d like to haha. Good luck with the rest of your goals!

Leave a Reply

