Since You’ve Been Gone || A Review, In List Format

been-goneTitle: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

Format / Length: Paperback / 449 Pages

Publisher / Date Published: Simon & Schuster Children’s / July 3rd 2014

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Contemporary

Source: Library!

| SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE on Goodreads |

Description: It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?


DSC_0604THINGS I LIKED:

  • LISTS. (Bet you didn’t see that one coming.)
  • Our main character, Emily. She was so, so, so real. She was awkward and shy and unconfident and I loved that about her. I felt like I knew her. And I got her — mostly. One thing, though? She wasn’t ever really upset at Sloane for . . . you know, just leaving without any warning. Me? I’d be ANGRY. (But then again maybe I’m just a perpetually angry person?)
  • The adorableness of the story.
  • And the adorableness of the romance.
  • And just the general adorableness of the story.DSC_0601
  • The whole summery feel. It’s COLD here in Australia at the moment and it was nice to read a warm and fluffy novel. It was set in summer, too, so that helps.

THINGS I DIDN’T REALLY LIKE:

  • It was a bit . . . Long. There were points where I thought to myself, “I like this, but I’d like it even more if something more was happening.”
  • Above I said I liked Emily. And I stand by that. (MILD spoiler ahead. Nothing to get too anxious over, I don’t believe.) But Emily kisses Frank — knowing that he had a girlfriend. I thought this was a bit . . . Low. I mean, I know the whole of the story was for the main character to step out of her comfort zone, but urgh, really? It begged the question whether the list change Emily for the better, or not.

DSC_0611BUT LOOK HOW SHORT THAT LIST IS.

This was a good book. I liked it. It was fun. It was well written. So — should you read this? Yes, if you . . .

  • Like light (ish — there are some deeper moment there) fluffy contemporary novels.
  • Have a soft spot for lists.
  • Don’t mind a longer, drawn-out novel.
  • Want a real down-to-earth main character.

Lists! Summer romance! Loveable (well, mostly) characters! Have you read Since You’ve Been Gone? Or do you plan it? AND LISTS! Let’s discuss lists. Please tell me you like lists.

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


16 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone || A Review, In List Format

  1. Ooh, a main character that is shy and awkward… I like the sound of that – probably because I can relate. I’m with you on the whole, kissing the guy who has a girlfriend thing: you just don’t do that.

    I’ve seen this book around, but never knew much about it – your review has made me want to read it.

  2. It WAS quite long (especially for a contemp) but luckily for me it never felt too long. AND I LOVED EMILY. I mean, it’s weird to read about a character with the same name as me, but I liked her a lot :)

  3. The length of the novel is what made me put it down after a couple of chapters ;___; I’m just so bad with long books, especially if they’re not action-packed fantasy.

    Oh and I’m perpetually angry too so wahey~

  4. Yessss why did Emily do that with Frank? I felt really uncomfortable about that scene in general, knowing my strong feelings against cheating. But yes, I really enjoyed this one, thought she was relatable and it was great. Lovely review Kara!

  5. I LOVE BOOKS WITH LISTS. I am a list addict. I love the sound of Emily being awkward too–that’s so cute!

    “But then again maybe I’m just a perpetually angry person?” HA. I think you just described me. xD I have my perpetual bitch face to accompany my sour moods. :P

    It’s definitely the size of this book that’s making me hesitant to read it. I’m used to my contemporaries being around 200-350 pages. I find it unnecessary to drag them because they don’t need the extra pages for world-building, mind-boggling explanations, etc.

    KISSING THE HERO WHEN HE HAS A GIRLFRIEND WHAT?! I sure hope the guy did not kiss her back. ._.

    • Hahahaha. Go us, for being perpetually angry ;) Yes, I can see how the size might be off-putting. And there were times where I thought there was some unnecessary things, but perhaps that was just me that thought that — regardless, I still do highly recommend this one. :)

  6. I keep seeing this one in my bookstore and I’ve been itching to buy it because THAT COVER. I do have a digital version, though, so I’ll just stick to that. Everyone has been sooo amazed by this one mostly because of the self-discovery and friendship aspects so I can’t wait to read and explore these. Shame that she kissed someone when they were committed to someone else, though… I agree, that was NOT cool.

    Faye at The Social Potato

  7. Great review Kara! This book did seem a bit long in places, but I just love how cute it was and had the friendship theme running through. Thanks for sharing :)

  8. I still need to read this one, and your review just reminds me why. I love books based on friendship, romance is obviously the in thing in YA, so nice to see a book that bucks the trend. I’d be angry too, but I dare say that this wouldn’t be half as engaging with a protagonist who had her cranky pants on for the entire book. What is it with books and lists lately, there are a few floating around. Luckily this one sounds as though it got it right. Awesome review Kara, really looking forward to cracking it open <3

Leave a Reply

