The Wrath and the Dawn || Exquisitely Written & Deliciously Engrossing

the-wrath-and-the-dawnTitle: The Wrath and the Dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Format / Length: Paperback / 449 Pages

Publisher / Date Published: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers / May 12th 2015

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Fairytale Retelling

Source: Lent from the awesome Spontaneous Outpourings

| THE WRATH AND THE DAWN on Goodreads |

Description: Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all. 


DSC_0652

| The beautiful edition at the front of the hardcover edition |

So. Let’s just take a moment to drink in that glorious illustration at the beginning of the book.

And let us take another moment to ask yourself the following question: Do I want to read this book? If the answer is Yes, then congratulations! You are correct. Because you do want to read this book. And you will have to stay up to ungodly times of the morning, because you’ll start reading the book, think to yourself, “Oh. I’ll just read one chapter,” and then find yourself halfway through the book.

My title pretty much tells you all.

It was exquisitely written, lyrical in its prose but not overbearing. Not only was it wonderfully written, but it’ll suck you in from the first page and leave you breathless until the very end. (And leave you aching for the sequel.) BUT. Incase you need anymore convincing, here are some other reasons why you should read The Wrath and the Dawn:

  • It’s a retelling/inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

    DSC_0644

    | The beautiful edges |

  • But, really, it’s original in its own right
  • There’s a very, very faint undercurrent of magic, which I loved
  • A slow-burning, sensual romance
  • THAT COVER
  • THOSE EDGES
  • KHALID. At first glance, you think he’s a terrible person. But wait. Just wait. Dig underneath those layers, and you’ll see an entirely different person
  • Our main character, Shahrzad, is WONDERFUL. Her wit, strength of character, intelligence… Gah, she was great. She was the sort of quietly kick-ass heroine. (Except I still don’t know how to pronounce her name. Haha.)
  • The worldbuilding was FANTASTIC. (Although, I was pretty sure this is historical fiction, right? At least, from what I could understand, “Khorasan” (which is where the novel is set) was a historical region somewhere in Iran.) So, all confusion aside of the genre and setting, the descriptive details were beautiful.
  • DSC_0655

    | Why yes, there IS a map! |

    FOOD. Numerous descriptions of food that literally left my mouth watering.


Have I convinced you to read The Wrath and the Dawn? (Yes. Yes, I have.) ALSO: retellings! Do you love them as much as I do? I will devour any book with the word “retelling” or “inspired by” in its blurb.

 Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


22 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn || Exquisitely Written & Deliciously Engrossing

  1. I’ve listened to two parts (out of 9) of the audiobook and HUNGRY. I’m loving in so far. And because I speak hindi, I recognise some of the Arabic words, which is delightful. I want a hardcover because beautiful (but I’m aware that this is kind of unlikely :()

  2. Gah, I can’t wait to read this!!! You have totally convinced me to read it, even though I was planning to ever since I heard about it months ago. AND THAT COVER!!! <3 And I adore retellings of all sorts. It's fascinating to read different versions of the same base story.

  3. All I know is that fellow bloggers seem to really be loving this, it has beautiful quotes (and reviews!) and I. Want. In.
    Adding away to my tbr, methinks.

    This is a really swell review, Kara! I so enjoyed both seeing visually how amazing this book looks, but reading that list! It definitely makes me levels more keen to get my hands on a copy of this. I mean, gorgeous artwork, surprise magic and awesome characters? I need very little else.
    xx

  4. Great review! You’ve pretty much convinced me.
    When this book first came out, I wasn’t interested at all really. It just didn’t sound like my thing. However, with all of the hype it’s been getting recently and all of the amazing reviews, I think maybe I should give this one a shot.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

  5. Thank you for sharing photos of the hardcover copy. I pretty much live by my Kindle now so it’s nice to be reminded of the perks of physical books. This was a fun review to read, I’m glad you enjoyed the book. I also got really hungry reading Shazi’s meals, and I had serious clothes and jewellery envy as well lol.

Leave a Reply

