Ten Books You MUST Read || Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

So here’s the thing: I’ve read 150 books this year, and although I am a tough, tough, tough person when it comes to books, I had a hard time whittling this post down to only ten. Honorable mentions go to All the Bright Places, The Heir, The Retribution of Mara Dyer. But alas, ten was way, waaaaay to little.

photo1

1. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

My most recent favorite — LOVELY writing, addictive story.

2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

A mix of fantasy and dystopia, I ADORED Red Queen. 

3. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black.

Magic! Fey! Lyrical writing!

photo2

4. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes.

Do I need to say anything here? 

5. Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard.

Oh gawsh, can someone give me the next book, like right now!? I need to binge-read the rest of the series ASAP.

6. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor.

… I cannot express my love for Laini Taylor enough.

photo3

7. Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas.

Okay, so I didn’t love this as much as Dangerous Girls — but both were spectacular.

8. The Falconer by Elizabeth May.

I don’t usually like steampunk, but this one stole my heart.

9. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas.

BECAUSE CELAENA.

10. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein.

Lesson learned from this: don’t anger ancient dragons.


Now, it’s your turn. What books have wowed you this year…so far? Anything that I absolutely, MUST, MUST read?

 Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


43 thoughts on “Ten Books You MUST Read || Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year So Far

  1. The Hobbit is excellent! We are waiting on Susan Dennard’s books here because she is signing them for us, but I cannot wait to read them! Holly Black is amazing and I love her writing always! We don’t have a lot of overlap, but my Top Ten Tuesday list includes a lot of older titles. You have read quite a few books that are on my TBR list though. Lucky you!

  2. I still haven’t tread NOR watched The Hobbit and feel like an absolute failure at life! I feel like there’s just some books you HAVE TO read so I’m definitely slacking in this area. I’ve seen similar books from your lists on other blogs. Red Queen, I’ve heard, is AH-MAY-ZIINNG. :)

  3. WOW! 150 BOOKS?!?!?! That’s crazy awesome! I really need to read The Wrath and the Dawn- so many people love it! Great list, and happy reading! :)

  4. Wow, so many good titles you’ve read this year! *.*
    Definitely going to give the Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly a go, it looks wonderful and that cover though. <3

  5. I haven’t read any of these books, but I’ve heard good things about all of them! The Wrath and the Dawn looks the most interesting to me—I’ll have to check it out!

  6. I just bought The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly and I’m SO excited to read it. I’ve only seen wonderful things about it. I’m glad to see it’s on your favorites of the year so far!

    My TTT

  7. I’m glad Red Queen worked out for you (I had not so great feelings about it but I can see how it’s so appealing! Also, Maven was a cool character) and I’m seeing The Wrath and the Dawn on everyone’s lists, blesss :”)

  8. Ahaha, I’m kind of ashamed to say that I’ve only read three out of the ten books you listed down here! I really need to step up on my reading game… xD

    1. The Wrath and the Dawn: I’ve heard SO much about this one, both good and bad, and I’m so curious to see what all the fuss is about! Plus, the cover is so beautifully eyecatching and asdjfkladqw; I ALWAYS DROOL A LITTLE WHEN I SEE IT.

    2. Red Queen: This one was such a surprise! I didn’t like it at first, but then that twist came, and I was mind-BLOWN. I so didn’t see it coming!

    4. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly: Omg, words can’t even begin to describe how much I want this book! Apart from the gore factor (I like gore, hehehe), the cult aspect of the book is also so interesting. I’ve read books about cults, of course, but none of them were that good. So I’m super happy that it’s on your list of favorites of 2015! :D

    5. Something Strange and Deadly: Okay, can’t remember much about this one since I read it like two years ago, but I do remember really enjoying it as well. I mean — ZOMBIES AND PARASOLS. What more can you ask for, seriously?

    7. Dangerous Boys: I need to go get my copy of Dangerous Girls asap and see what people are talking about. The YA mystery genre has been letting me down lately…

    10. The Hobbit: “Lesson learned from this: don’t anger ancient dragons.” — Wisest thing I’ve read ever. *nods*

    I recently read Made You Up by Francesca Zappia and it was brilliant. It was so, so good and the feels I got from reading it was just — ! You’ll fall in love with the characters too. Ugh. I want to re-read it again. So yeah, I definitely recommend that one, haha. :P And I have to agree, 2015 has been a good bookish year. I had an awful time with the books I read in 2014, but I’ve read so many great ones this year!

    • Thanks for the EPIC comment! <3 <3

      1. YOU MUST READ IT. (Plus, the insides have a GORGEOUS picture.)

      2. I KNOW RIGHT. THAT TWIST.

      4. It was so brilliant! I was new to the whole cult thing — so for me it was fascinating.

      5. EXACTLY.

      7. Oh this one WON'T let you down. Trust me. It's just so thrilling and twisty and BRILLIANT.

      10. HAHAHA!

      Ohhh yes, I've heard really really really good things about that one!

  9. I absolutely love Heir of Fire and the Hobbit. I’m so glad to see the latter on someone’s list! I can’t wait to read The Wrath and the Dawn and the Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly. Everything about those books sounds epic. Great list :)

  10. 150 books?! Holy crap, Kara, please read all my TBR books for me. :P I am GLARING at my favorite local bookstore right now for taking agessss to restock hardcovers of The Wrath and the Dawn. NEED.

    Okay, you probably already know that I didn’t like Red Queen, so… *zips mouth*

    I BOUGHT MINNOW BLY HALLELUJAH. ;) We’ll see when I can finally find some time to read it! <3 It sounds sooo good.

    I agree about Dangerous Boys! Not as goosebump-inducing as Dangerous Girls, but still insanely intense and shocking.

    I enjoyed Heir of Fire, but it wasn't a favorite or anything. Also, I actually didn't care about Calaena at all. D: I'm more of a Rowan or maybe Manon fan myself. ;)

  11. So many wonderful books! I definitely agree with Minnow Bly, Dangerous Boys, Heir of Fire and The Falconer. Still need to catch up on Laini Taylor’s other books other than the first though! Like Aimee, when you mentioned Heir of Fire I immediately thought “Because of Rowan” ;) Great list Kara! I’m looking forward to reading the Wrath and the Dawn.

  12. CELEANA IS AMAZING IN HEIR OF FIRE. Kickass and adorable and cold-blooded killer at times, but generally just plain awesome.

    YES YES YES TO THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST :’)

  13. Ack, yes THE WRATH AND THE DAWN, HEIR OF FIRE, and all the Laini Taylor books are amazing. I loved THE FALCONER as well and DANGEROUS BOYS, though I agree than Dangerous Girls is sooooo much better.

  14. Great books on your list: Heir of Fire is my favorite in the Throne of Glass series, and The Hobbit is just a wonderful classic (plus dragon, I love dragons). I’ve also read The Wrath and the Dawn (didn’t love it, but I did really like it) and Red Queen (also didn’t love it, but thought it was pretty interested — and that twist at the end, whoa!) this year. And ah, The Evolution of Mara Dyer was an honorable mention for my list! Ten slots really is too few… I often cheat and add more books. ;)

Leave a Reply

