Top Ten Tuesday || Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I CANNOT BELIEVE I HAVEN’T READ SOME OF THESE BOOKS. But when your TBR pile is as long as mine… well, books tend to fall through the gaps rather quickly. (Can’t I just have unlimited time to read? Please?) And while I’m a book a day kinda reader, here are the hyped books that I’m yet to consume. Aaaand, as I’ve read most “hyped” books, I’ve chosen ones that have been released in recent years.

ttt1

1. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

MASSIVE hype around this one. Like, this-book-has-fifty-reserves-on-it-at-my-library sort of hype.

2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.

Maybe I’m cheating by putting this here because I do have a copy in my claws. Just haven’t read it yet.

3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

I know right? Haven’t read this… yet. Shame. On. Me.

ttt2

4. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

This sounds EPIC. And, ya know, it may or may not have been sitting on my shelf for about two years.

5. Vicious by V.E. Schwab.

Duuuuude. This books sounds SO. DAMN. GOOD. But I haven’t seen it in bookstores or libraries, so argh.

6. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff.

Almost dying to read this — because it’s not often there are popular Asian-inspired YA fantasies.

ttt3

7. Legend by Marie Lu.

I’m not the biggest fan of dystopia, so I suppose that’s why this has still remained unread.

8. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.

Dragons? Fantasy? I NEED to read this. And soon!

9. Red Rising by Pierce Brown.

I WILL read this. I WILL.

10. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows.

Beautiful cover, awesome premise. I need!


Are you like me, and struggled to find hyped books you haven’t read? Anything that I simple must must must must read as soon as humanely possible?

 Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’


64 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday || Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet

  1. KARA, YOU READ LIKE A HUNDRED BOOKS A WEEK AND YOU HAVEN’T READ ACOTAR??? This is officially shameful. You know I’m not the biggest fan of fantasy AND YET it’s one of my fave 2015 books <3 <3 READ ITTTT.

  2. Red Rising is pretty much perfect, you must check it out! AEITA is also very entertaining! I need to check out Stormdancer, too – you’d think a Japanophile like me would have done so already haha.

  3. The only one I’ve read on your list is Legend – and I thought it was a little too generic – so I’m behind on the hype with these books too!

  4. I have the same problem with Vicious! It isn’t in any bookstores or libraries where I live, so I think I might just have to get an ebook copy of it… argh! Anyways, great list! :)

  5. SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS IN THIS LIST. But I’m with you with An Ember in the Ashes. There so much hype around that book and we’re just going through life like, ‘eek. Sorry.’ Haha. But ACOTAR?! And Winner’s Curse?! Tsk, tsk, tsk Kara. Hurry up, will ya?! Haha. Na, I’m kidding.

  6. I’ve seen a lot of these posts today and a lot of people have The Girl on The Train on their list. I think I’m going to have to look into it and add it to mine.

  7. Omigosh… so many of these books that I haven’t read are on my TBR pile. My TTT has no overlap with yours, but my need to beg you to read some of the books on this list is great.

    Hope you get Vicious soon, just saying. It’s becoming a movie. :)

  8. The only book on your list I’ve read is ACOTAR and it’s amazing (but Sarah J Maas so of course it is!). I want to read several that you’ve listed. I just got An Ember in the Ashes from the library so I’ll be reading it soon. Red Rising made my list too. I’d love to read it one of these days! Great list (pretty sure I’ve just added to my TBR) ;)

  9. AHH I HAVE AN UNREAD COPY OF EMBER ON MY SHELVES TOO. We must buddy read, Kara! ACOTAR was so good. Okay, it wasn’t amazing for me, but I really, really enjoyed it. :) The Winner’s Curse gave me all the feels! Everyone else loved the sequel more, though. :P I’ve also not yet read Vicious, Red Rising, The Orphan Queen and Stormdancer (the last two of which I’ve owned for a while…) But PLEASE read Legend (the last book is one of my all-time favorites) and Seraphina (much brilliance).

    So sorry for this incoherent comment. xD

  10. I am SO looking forward to reading Vicious. It’s so sad, why can’t I just have ALL the books? *sobs*

  11. Girl, you neeeeeeed to read A Court of Thorns and Roses! One of my favorite books of the year so far! Vicious also made my TTT list this week. I really need to get on the V. E. Schwab bandwagon… Legend is one of my favorite dystopia series — I highly recommend it. And I keep meaning to read Seraphina because it’s about DRAGONS. I wasn’t a huge fan of An Ember in the Ashes (man, I had problems with that one), The Winner’s Curse (I liked the second book, The Winner’s Crime, so much more), Red Rising (very unique, though), or The Orphan Queen (it felt kind of average, to be frank). Great list, Kara!!

    • Oh my gosh I KNOW. I SO NEED TO GET ONTO ACOTAR. Ahh I MIGHT just give Legend a chance then! Haha yep, dragons generally equals awesomeness, so I’m really looking forward to that. A few people have mentioned they like the second Winner’s book better! So that is quite intriguing. Have heard that about Red Rising — and hey, although I DNF’d it last year I’d like to give it a proper chance. (I didn’t read much and it had to go back to the library.) Aw, shame to hear that about The Orphan Queen! Thank you!

  12. You are not the only one that has not yet read A Court of Thorns and Roses, i own it and i have not yet finished it. I am currently reading it, but still it took me a while to get to it too.
    I put Ember in the Ashes on my list as well and i started it last month and did not finish it. So you can’t be cheating if you own it, because then i would be cheating too. ;)

    Really great list, reminded me to remember to get my hands on Seraphina and that i wanted to read the Orphan Queen as well. Thank you.

  13. The Winner’s Curse and Seraphina are epic, epic fantasies and if you like fantasy at all you’d probably like them! Seraphina especially is so unique and the commentary on current and contemporary social issues using the fantasy setting is great.

  14. OMG Kara – you NEED to read The Winner’s Curse! It is absolutely beautiful and lyrical and heart-breaking all at the same time. I was a bit meh about An Ember in the Ashes and Legend, but I hope if you end up reading them that you like them as much as everyone else seems to have! Thanks for sharing and fabulous choices! <3

  15. The Winner’s Curse is AMAZING! I really hope you get to reading it soon Kara, for me it was sooo worth it. ACOTAR is another big one definitely worth a read in my opinion – I’m not usually a big YA fantasy fan but that book converted me! I’ve really wanted to read something by Victoria Schwab as well and The Girl on the Train made my list too (there are heaps of reservations for it at my library though as well so it might be a while until I get my hands on it). Great picks :)

  16. The Winners curse was soooo good. I fell in love with the cover before I even fell in love with the book. But once I started the book it was even better than the cover.

  17. Hi! Just wanted to say that I’ve been reading this blog for a while and now I’ve got a WordPress account of my own I can finally follow it…your articles are so interesting, especially your wordbuilding series. It’s come in a lot of use to me as I’m in the process of writing a YA fantasy of my own! Also, I would definitely recommend Seraphina – I read it a year or so ago on holiday and couldn’t put it down. I’ve got a friend who went crazy over Marie Lu’s ‘Legend’ series too, it’s on my TBR list too! Well done again on writing such brilliant blog posts!

  18. Haha I haven’t read a single one of these!! :D I guess it’s mainly because these are mostly fantasy titles and I don’t read a lot fantasy to be honest. Great to see that I’m not the only one :P

  19. No problem, just thought you should know how useful your posts have been to me :) Everyone who says that Seraphina is brilliant is a friend of mine – it’s pretty unusual, but I loved it!

  20. Okay, from this pile of yours, you sooooo should read RED RISING (omg, you haven’t read that yet? I bet you heard that a couple of times so let me reiterate – omg, you haven’t read that yet?! Haha) and GIRL ON THE TRAIN if you like Adult Thrillers Gone-Girl-Style! Some people may find it a bit disturbing, being in the mind of unlikeable people, but I actually found it fascinating! Hope you give all these books a try soon. :D

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

