Old Book Covers || A Song of Ice and Fire Edition

oldbookcovers

I am a horder collector of books.

Well… the first step to getting better is to acknowledge the problem, right? Ha ha, I kid. I don’t have a problem.

If you don’t know it already, then one of my favourite fantasies is the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin, and I totally know I’m not alone there. What you might not know, though, is that I’m also an avid collector of books. I’m sure that most people are fine with buying one edition of the book. But me? NOPE. I need them ALL. And lately, I’ve been looking for certain editions of these book.

There’s only one problem.

They’re not actually being printed more… in the covers I like. There are new cover editions coming out all the time — there’s the recent ones (which I still do love, and although there are no pictures here I own them; in fact, they were the edition I first read them in) and then there are the even more recent ones. You know — these ones. And of course there are the TV tie-in ones… but let’s not talk about them.

If they’re not in print, where do you get them?

Online, secondhand bookshops, op-shops, etc. There is one problem with this though, and that’s that they’re not all that common. I’ve been searching for them ever since last year sometime, and I still don’t have complete sets in the ones I’m looking for. (I WILL get there, godamnit, I’m so close.)

You might be wondering why I’m interested in collecting the older editions. Well…

  • They have more CHARACTER. The newer ones are pretty, I know, but there’s just something so ENCHANTING about the older editions. The new ones just look — dare I say it? — a touch generic.
  • They’re often well-worn. I love collecting old, well-loved books. It’s pretty cooling knowing that someone out there has read and loved them as much as I do.

And thus, I introduce you to my glorious A Song of Ice and Fire editions.

NOTE: I’m not 100% sure that I’ve gotten the pub. dates correct. If I haven’t, feel free to correct me.

DSC_0757

From bottom to top — A Storm of Swords: Published by Voyager (August 10th 2000) | A Game of Thrones: Published by Bantam / Spectrum (1996) | A Game of Thrones: Published by Bantam (March 4th 2011) | A Clash of Kings: Published by Voyager (1999) | A Clash of Kings: Published by Bantam Spectra (February 2nd 1999) | A Storm of Swords: Blood & Gold: Published by Voyager (2000) |

Aaaaand, a collection of my favourite images of these books I’ve taken:

collage 2

collage 1


So: Are you as much of a cover snob as I am? What about when it comes to your favourite series? Do you HAVE TO get all the editions of the books you love like me? It’s a terrible curse. What do you think of these A Song of Ice and Fire editions? Do you have a favourite?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Instagram


19 thoughts on “Old Book Covers || A Song of Ice and Fire Edition

  1. I’m a cover snob, but not so much a hoarder. >_< I WOULD IF I HAD MONEY THOUGH BECAUSE OMG. BOOKS. I'm going to start collecting GoT and I going for those more minimalism ones (not the most recent ones, ergh, and not the super old ones) I can't waaaaait. *dances*

  2. I’m a cover snob, but in the way that I only like to have the same editions in a series. It practically kills me that the Artemis Fowl series just changed their design for the last few books and didn’t even create one that matched the older books.

    Good luck in your collection!

  3. I am a super cover snob. But I do like the oddly delightful smell in old book stores so I troll there. I have a special place in my heart for these old school covers as they remind me of my favourite uncle’s fantasy bookshelves :D Happy collecting!

  4. There are just so many books that I want, and so little money to buy them, that I can’t afford to buy all the editions to the books I love, though I would if I could. I think it’s really cool you have these older covers.

  5. Wow, I really love the old covers – it has the old fantasy vibe to it. Secondhand books are awesome aren’t they? I’ve got a few old books on me now, and they smell fantastic…gosh the paper is so soft and bookish. I bought an extra edition of The Little Prince, but the new edition doesn’t look as if it’s been loved at all. My old addition (although it doesn’t have the illustrations in colour) is still my favourite out of the two, maybe because of how many people have read it before me, and because of how many times I’ve read it.

  6. I am perpetually broke 109% of the time, so I can’t hoard editions of the same book…BUT THOSE ARE GORGEOUS. So many books :’o And cover snob? Yes. I will shamlessly pick up a book because it was a jaw dropping cover. My bad, I guess xD

  7. I must admit, I’m a stickler for having matching books in a series. I’ve got a few series where I’ve bought the books online at different times and they haven’t matched and much cursing ensues. I’ve never read the series and only watched one episode of the show once, just not my thing sadly. But the most recent covers are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing Kara and happy collecting <3

  8. Lol, a curse, lol. Deep, deep down I’m a cover snob, but at the level I operate on a daily basis, I don’t care much. Well, not really. I’m too impatient to wait or search for a cover I really want sometimes so I just go with what I can get.

  9. I can’t bring myself to buy multiple copies of books I love, unless I accidentally received a review copy or unless it’s Harry Potter! But I love how you collect different versions of a series that you loved here!

Leave a Reply

