World After || Post-Apocalyptic Angels and a Severe Lack of Raffe

WORLDAFTERTitle: World After

Author: Susan Ee

Format / Length: Paperback / 369 Pages

Publisher / Date Published: Hodder & Stoughton  / November 21st 2013

Category / Genre: Young Adult / Post Apocalyptic

Source: Library!

| WORLD AFTER on Goodreads |

Description: In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?


DSC_0696Okay, okay, okay. Not sure where to start with this review. First off: I think you should all read this series. Did I like it? NOPE. But you know what? That’s just me! I totally see the appeal of this series and why it has so many great fans.

My thoughts have been a bit jumbled lately, so I thought I would format this review into a list of things I liked — and the things… well, the things I didn’t really like. And honestly it’s been. So. Long since I’ve read the first in the series. I didn’t remember much. So yeah, that hampered my enjoyment a bit.

Things I liked:

  • The concept! A post-apocalyptic world with angels. ANGELS, PEOPLE. They’re the bad guys. (Well… mostly.)
  • The writing! Fast paced. Easy to read. Loveable style.
  • The cover. Pretty GORGEOUS, if you ask me.
  • The fact that our main character’s mother is mentally ill. It’s nice to see a non-contemp. novel like this tackle underlying
    issues with Penryn and her mother in a realistic way.DSC_0681

Things I didn’t love so much:

  • The worldbuilding. Can it be expanded on a little more? PLEASE? I felt like I just didn’t GET the world every well. It was thinly built, a little frail, and most of the time I personally did not connect with it very well.
  • A lot of the side characters were forgettable. Urgh. I feel terrible saying that, and honestly I find that to be the case with DSC_0682a lot of books, but I flew through this not much knowing about them; I’d have loved it if their backstories were more solid.
  • There wasn’t much Raffe. And therefore, less of their hilarious banter that was there in the first. That did increased toward the end–but yeahhh, by the point I’d lost a lot of interested in what was happening.

Overall? Not my favourite read. But still! I will finish the series. And looking forward to seeing how it all ends.


Have you read the Angelfall series? What did you think of it? Agree/disagree with my review! I’d love to discuss. Also: angels! What’s your favourite book/s with angels in them?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Instagram


12 thoughts on “World After || Post-Apocalyptic Angels and a Severe Lack of Raffe

  1. I read Angelfall and felt it was a bit mediocre IMO – mostly due to the worldbuilding & the side characterization – so seeing that those elements of the story don’t improve much makes me a little hesitant as to whether or not I want to pick this one up and continue the series. Thanks for sharing your thoughts though Kara – glad you still enjoyed it despite its flaws! <3

  2. Ooh, you may want to fix the typo in the title :) I haven’t read any susan ee book, but it sounds interesting. I don’t really like paranormal books involving angels, but if one falls in my path…Anyway, my favourite angel book is certainly daughter of smoke and bone. And I just finished Good Omens which is all about the apocalypse.Thanks for the review, Kara

  3. I have to admit I’ve been series around for a long time and I know it’s popular and all but I guess this genre just isn’t my style. I may get to it one day but PFFT. And my favorite book with Angels would be Hush Hush(duh) teehee PATCH ALL THE WAY.

  4. YES I MISSED THE RAFFE SO MUCH. SO MUCH.

    I don’t know how I felt about this one but it was definitely the weakest of the three. I felt like it was a little boring in the middle but then at the end, it picked up.

  5. ohhhh man you didn’t like Pooky Bear (best object side character ever!) I know what you mean about Raffe not being present though, I wanted him to be around more! I don’t know if you’d like End of Days, especially since feeling a bit ambivalent about this one. Lovely review Kara!

  6. I actually preordered this book well before it was released, and STILL haven’t read it. I really liked book one, but looking back, I’m not sure I loved it enough to get excited about the rest of the series. Hearing that there isn’t much Raffe concerns me, because that was the big selling point of book one for me, the banter. I’m eagerly awaiting to see what you think of the finale Kara, if you don’t enjoy the last book, then I’ll probably give it a miss all together as well. Brilliant review poppet <3

Leave a Reply

