It’s No Secret I ADORE Fairytales || Top Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want to Read

toptentuesdayfinal

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

So… as the title suggests, I love, love, love fairytales. Seriously. Slap the word “fairytale” and “retelling” on the back cover of a book and you’ve got my money. It was SO HARD to only choose five of each, but I was determined to be strict about that, although I did let myself list some “honorable mentions” below each category.

Also: new banner! I’m not a graphics genius, so I was quite proud of this one.

Five Fairytale Retellings I’m Dying to Read:

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

This book keeps STARING at me from my bookshelf. Accusingly. In fact, this might be one of the books I take along with me while I endure the 21-ish hour flight (yes… you read that correctly) to England.

2. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge.

Hey, look, I seem to be on a roll for Beauty and the Beast retellings here.

3. Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis.

I’ve heard this been compared to Cinder? Which, really, only makes me 100% more excited for, because I love that entire series.

4. Winterspell by Claire Legrand.

This looks badass.

5. Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay.

Game of Thrones” meets Grimm fairytales”? I. NEED. NOW.

Honorable mentions to A WICKED THING, CROWN OF ICE, BEASTKEEPER, CRIMSON BOUND, and ASH & BRAMBLE which I’m also dying to read.

fairytale retellings

Five Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read:

1. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

Guys: if you haven’t read this yet, you MUST. I loved this book from the first word to the last.

2. Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

Cyborgs. Space. Evil queens. Do you want to read this yet?

3. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black.

Perhaps not a “retelling” per se — but a wonderful blend of mythology, nonetheless.

4. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes.

I read and loved this earlier this year. Want to read a retelling… but not that fond of fantasy? Yep. This is for you.

5. The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman.

Beautiful writing, lovely storyline, and gorgeous illustrations. How can you look past that?

Honorable mentions to NORTH CHILD, SPLINTERED which I’ve also read and enjoyed.


Now it’s your turn… Link me to your lists below! Also: what wonderfully epic fairytale retellings am I missing on my list? Anything I should drop everything and read? And if you could choose ONE fairytale you’d like to see as a book… what would it be?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Instagram


30 thoughts on “It’s No Secret I ADORE Fairytales || Top Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want to Read

  1. I completely agree with you on The Wrath and the Dawn! I just finished it yesterday and it was perfection. My heart is still hurting. I have Cinder waiting on my shelf and I have to get to that soon because EVERYONE seems to love The Lunar Chronicles. Also, A Court of Thorns and Roses is fantastic as well, so PLEASE read it! Great list!

  2. I totally want to try Stitching Snow and Princess of Thorns. Particularly Princess of Thorns since DID YOU SAY GAME OF THRONES??? *signs self up* AWK. And I particularly love TW&TD (hehe, I probably sound like a broken record since I say that so much. :D) I didn’t know The Darkest Part of the Forest was a retelling though??? Oops. My bad.
    Here’s my TTT!

  3. Stitching Snow looks really good, although I haven’t read Cinder so I don’t really have anything to compare it to in that sense. I definitely NEED to read The Wrath and the Dawn soon- it feels like everyone else has read it except for me! Awesome list! :)

  4. A lot of these I have not heard of whatsoever. I’m one of the people that are on the other end of the spectrum (I think fairy tale retellings are meh…which probably has a lot to do with my not knowing most of these retellings).
    STILL.
    Great list, and I will definitely check out the Neil Gaiman one! (Because Gaiman).

  5. ACOTAR, Cruel Beauty and Winterspell are all amazing and definitely worth reading!
    Ahh omg everyone keeps raving about The Wrath and the Dawn and I really think I should get a copy…it looks freaking awesome.

  6. Awesome list!
    I can’t wait to read ACOTAR. I hope we both love it! Beauty and the Beast retellings are the best. I’ve wanted to read Cruel Beauty for a while, too. (And her new book Crimson Bound looks SO GOOD too)
    The Wrath and The Dawn is magnificent. I can’t wait for the sequel! And Cinder is my favorite retelling EVER.
    Beautiful photography, as always!
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

  7. Okay but SO many of these are on my TBR. I adore dark retellings and this basically just summed up the list of awesomeness for me. I’m super excited for Minnow Bly at, <3

  8. Oh I didn’t realise that Minnow Bly was a retelling! How interesting.. what’s it a retelling of do you know? ACOTAR is a MUST READ Kara, I really hope you love it as much as I did. And Stitching Snow was AMAZING, it really surprised me. :D :D

    I’m waiting for my copy of Wrath and the Dawn to arrive, so excited to dive into that one!!

  9. i CAN’T WAIT to read The Wrath and the Dawn! Seeing you’re flailing over it and everyone is giving it son much love! I still can’t believe you haven’t succumbed to the pressure of reading ACOTAR yet. Yes! You must have it with you my dear Kara. Will you be tweeting while you;re away?

Leave a Reply

