Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (68) & Stacking the Shelves (48)

DSC_0693

You might have noticed I’ve been terribly absent from the blogging world lately. I have some Frayed revisions due very, very soon (CUE PANIC/EXCITEMENT/RELIEF/TERROR), so I haven’t been posting, or commenting on posts as much. Soon though I’ll get back into the swing of things — so keep an eye out for my awesome (har har) comments. In other news, it’s less than one calendar month UNTIL I’M ON A PLANE TO THE UK. By the way: I hate flying. Hate it. And, for reference, from Australia to London, it’s around 21 hours. Fun, right? 

I’ve also begun to think about what I’m writing next — and at the moment I’m tossing up between a fairytale retellings (because I’ve never written one before, and I adore them so) and an epic science-fiction-ish novel. Basically, those are my plans for later in the year, which I plan on writing whenever I have the chance to. (They’ll probably be my NaNoWriMo plans, or something similar.)

Since last week, the books I’ve read: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski | Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout | End of Days by Susan Ee | Sublime by Christina Lauren | The Scorch Trials by James Dashner | Lirael by Garth Nix | Gravity by Melissa West | Apollyon by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Aaaaand, my current read is Seraphina by Rachel Hartman (I’ve literally been meaning to read this book for YEARS!)

read-this-week


STSmall_thumb[2]


This is the meme where you can highlight books you’ve bought/borrowed/gifted/received for review. You can read more on the meme and how to get involved here!

DSC_0692

  • Apollyon/Sentinel by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

DSC_0696

  • Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier
  • Prophecy by Ellen Oh
  • Rook by Shanon Cameron
  • Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky
  • Whisper the Dead by Alyxandra Harvey
  • Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein

Posts since last wrap up:

28th July — Bookish Characters || Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

July 29th — Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir 

July 31st — Old Book Covers || A Song of Ice and Fire Edition 

August 2nd — Book Review: World After by Susan Ee

August 4th — It’s No Secret I Adore Fairytales || Top Ten Fairytales I’ve Read/Want to Read 


What amazing books have you read lately? Added any books to your shelves this week? Also, writers: working on anything new? Let me know!

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Instagram


35 thoughts on “Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (68) & Stacking the Shelves (48)

  1. Your library is like the world’s most well stocked haha. I also have Rook and Prophecy on my to read list!

  2. I’ve been on a serious graphic-novel kick this weekend and read two volumes of Rat Queens and just started on Fables volume 2 (which you might love since it’s all about fairtytales)

    I ADORE retellings, so you should write a retelling *nudge nudge* Hehe, nah don’t listen to me, write whatever you want!

    Have a great week lovely! xx

  3. AHHH GOOD LUCK WITH FINISHING UP EDITS!! I feel like my edits would go way faster if I skipped blogging/interneting so much while I was working on them. xD I am just so much an addict though. BUT OMG a TRIP TO THE UK? SOUNDS EXCITING! :D And I’m so jealous of your library and all it’s 2015 books… ;-) mine is hopeless for new releases although I JUST found out they have The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly on order so I AM A HAPPY FISH.

    • *whispers* I’ve pretty much read every book they’ve gotten in before 2015… so I am VERY glad they’re getting in heaps of new releases at the moment. Ha ha. Well, I managed to keep myself off the blogging world… but that was about it. Twitter shall forever be my downfall. Ohh I can’t WAIT to see what you think of Minnow Bly!!! I LOVED that novel <3

  4. GOOD LUCK ON EDITS FOR FRAYED. EEK. I’ve missed you around the blogosphere! BUT YAY FOR THE UK. It goes a lot quicker with all the movies you can watch, thank goodness (I brought books on the plane but didn’t really feel like reading haha).

    • Thank yoooooou! <3 And best of luck on your final few trials. :) Oh yes, I'll DEFINITELY be watching heaps of movies and whatnot (if not for entertainment, then to take my mind off the fact THAT I'M IN THE FREAKING SKY IN A METAL BIRD.) (I do not like flying.) (At all.) (Can't I just use floo powder?)

  5. Good luck with edits! I’m about to start the third (fourth? Twentieth? I don’t really know . . .) version of my WIP, but that’s not exactly new. I need to figure out my plan for NaNo, but the plot bunnies are all in hibernation.

    I wish my library was better about getting the new releases. The only 2015 books I’ve read were Ink and Bone and Challenger Deep (though both of those were pretty awesome.)

    23 hours on a plane . . . yeah, fun. Longest I’ve done was maybe 8 hours (with a short layover in the middle) between the northeastern US and Costa Rica. And even that’s too long for me. But the UK . . . definitely worth it.

      • Ink and Bone was actually really good! I had a few minor quibbles with it–the romance kind of irritated me (though there wasn’t much of it, thankfully) and all the little details and whatnot got a bit confusing at times–but overall it was a really enjoyable read. Definitely deserves all the positive reviews it’s been getting.

  6. Gah, I’ve been meaning to read Seraphina for years as well!! Everyone apparently loves it. I need to read it soon because DRAGONS. Looks like a great reading week you’ve had. And look at all those library books! So jealous you have Sentinel right now because my library seems to have lost it ONE copy, so I have no idea when I’ll be able to finish the Covenant series. :P

  7. Photography is beautiful as always ;).
    You’ll love Seraphina! I thoroughly enjoyed the whole dragons bit. I never got to the second book but I do remember loving the first.
    GOOD LUCK FOR THE UK!!! Man, revisions sounds tough. Sending you mental hugs and cookies!!!!

  8. I vote epic science-fiction-ish. YES! This is a vote right?

    Ooh, the UK! I’ve never actually left Australia, never been on a plane actually either. Yes, I’m like a mushroom with a mortgage. It sucks being an adult. FRAYED! So exciting! Time is flying by isn’t it. How many sets of revisions do you go through? Or as many until they’re happy with it? I can hardly contain myself and want to hear all about it! Good luck Kara and no doubt you’ll kill it <3 <3

    • TOTALLY A VOTE! :)

      Oh, don’t be fussed about never being on a plane. They. Are. Dreadful. Time is definitely flying! (Har, har, flying…) Three sets of revisions, and next round is copyediting! (As long, I assume, they’re happy with what I just sent in.) Thank you! <3

  9. 23 hours is such a crazy long time. I’ve never flown outside of Australia. Hope you have a good time in the UK.
    I’ve had Seraphina on my shelf forever and really should read it soon.
    Good luck with your revisions. I’ve been busy editing my middle grade to enter into Pitch Wars on the 17th.

  10. Hello, I just found your blog and I’m really glad I did.I wanted to find people similar to me who is a teen and is into writing. I am in the middle of writing my first book and I feel like no one understands what I’m doing.

  11. HAVE I TOLD YOU HOW EXCITED I AM FOR FRAYED? Because I am. So. Excited. Good luck finishing up editing!

    Your library haul looks fantastic. I really want to read Gracefully Grayson–I’ve heard it’s great. I hope you enjoy Seraphina! I really enjoyed that one. Have a great week!

  12. GRABBY HANDS FOR FRAYED. EXTREME, ITCHY GRABBY HANDS!! <3 Also the UK! My cousins lived there for about three years and they adored it–so jealous! I hope you have an awesome trip. :D

    I've been soooo busy lately and I haven't been visiting my favorite blogs too. :( I'LL BE HERE MORE OFTEN, KAY?

  13. Exciting to hear about your upcoming writing plans Kara! I’ve always wanted to visit London, can’t wait to hear all about it and see your photos. I’m looking forward to hearing what you thought of Winner’s Curse, and Seraphina! Safe flight and happy travels.

Leave a Reply

