What Should I Read Next? (2)

read-next-2

Here’s the thing: My intention was, before I left for the UK, I’d read all my library books, then drop them back off at the library a few days before I left.

That way, I reasoned, I’d have time to finish the books at a leisurely pace, but still had enough books to last me until September.

HA HA HA HA.

It seems as though I’ve grossly underestimated my reading speed — because I literally have about ONE library book left. Oh, the horror! But… well, you know me. And knowing me means that I’ve always got unread books on hand. So here are a collection of books I’ve been meaning to read ever since I bought/won them, and I’m hoping to make a (metaphorical) dent in them before I leave.

pic1

  • The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
  • The Jewel by Amy Ewing
  • A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Pic2

  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu
  • Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

What glorious books have you read lately? Any of the above? Or anything not above, but I should be reading ASAP. And: how long does it take you to read books you purchase/won? Does it take an insanely long time like me?

Damn you, distracting, lovely library books.

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Instagram


17 thoughts on “What Should I Read Next? (2)

  1. A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU!!!!! READ IT, READ IT, READ IT!!
    There’s no competition whatsoever. If you’re a fan of cool sci-fi books than THIS ONE, THIS ONE, THIS ONE!!!

  2. READ THE YOUNG ELITES. Marie Lu is freaking amazing. I haven’t read any of these other books thus far (though I’ve heard of all except The Jewel), but I definitely recommend that one.

    That aside . . . I just read Challenger Deep, which was completely amazing. And other than that . . . I’m not reading very much. I’ve been working my way through Gods & Warriors for almost two weeks. But it’s a really good book, I swear. Life just kind of got in the way.

    • I’ve heard WONDERFUL things about Marie Lu. I haven’t have the chance to read her other series yet either, although people love that one too. And The Young Elites sounds like something I’d seriously LOVE. Oh, I’d like to read Challenger Deep, too. Another book I’ve consistently been hearing good things about.

  3. What a wonderful selection you have there Kara. Oh my days I’m glad I’m not the only one who delays reading purchases or won books – there’s something about them that makes you put them away for a rainy day…a rainy day that never comes. Sigh.

  4. Oh my gosh Kara! SO MANY GREAT BOOKS HERE! Gah…it’s so hard to vote because I’ve read all of these except The Jewel and The Sin Eater’s Daughter and really liked them all. I think I’m going to have to go with The Young Elites though because it just has the slight edge over everything else. Curious to see what everyone else put! Thanks for sharing and happy reading!

  5. I’ve read all but A Thousand Pieces of You. I loved Cruel Beauty, really liked Crimson Bound, was disappointed by The Sin Eater’s Daughter, and disliked The Jewel. Haha. I voted for you to read Cruel Beauty, obvs. To answer your questions… yup, it takes me a good while to read books I purchase or win, unless they’re books I’m absolutely DYING to read and somehow got a copy of before my interest dies down. I’ve found that for me, if I’m in the mood for a book, I better read it right then and there because otherwise I never get around to it… And what glorious book have I read recently? I just finished Saga, Volume 1. And holy ravioli, that graphic novel was AMAZING. :D

  6. I voted for The Jewel because I hated it and I want to know what you think :P Now, it’s not because I’m a sadist or anything (I SWEAR I AM NOT!), as so many others loved it (au contraire to my ragey feelings about it). Will you be siding with them… OR WITH ME?! o_o Which one will it be, Kara!?!? ^^

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

