The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

thesecretlifeofabookblogger

Thank you Emily @ Loony Literate for tagging me!

1. HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN A BLOGGER?

A few years now, and I love it.

2. AT WHAT POINT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL STOP BLOGGING?

NEVERRRRR. That’s totally an acceptable answer, right?? In all honesty, I don’t know IF I’d ever stop blogging, you know? I can be infrequent, sure, and sometimes it’s just nice to take a break from it, but STOP blogging? NOPE, NOPE.

3. WHAT IS THE BEST THING ABOUT BLOGGING?

  • Comments! I LOVE to know what people think about my posts, or books, or discussions.
  • Actually writing the post. I love writing. Any sort of writing. But especially bookish writing — where I get to talk about the things I love. And, okay, so perhaps sometimes it can be frustrating — challenging, even — but it’s so, so rewarding.
  • The amazing blogosphere. Seriously! The bookish community is one of the best collection of people out there. Supportive, kind, and just all round GREAT.

4. WHAT IS THE WORST THING? WHAT DO YOU DO TO MAKE IT OKAY?

The worst thing about blogging? When you feel burnt out. When you know what you want to write… but you just can’t for whatever reason. Generally when that happens — I take a break. Chill out. Read and write something else, watch a show or movie, and I wait until I can write the post properly.

5. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO CREATE/FIND PICTURES TO USE?

A LONG TIME. I’m a perfectionist. And I also take all of my own photographs that I use on my blog, and make my own graphics. I would literally take about fifty photos of the one book, and then maybe choose three or four out of that. But, at the end of the day, I adore photography, so for me, it’s worth it.

DSC_0691

6. WHO IS YOUR BOOK CRUSH?

WHERE DO I BEGIN? I’m totally a Warner girl. Or, you know, I totally wouldn’t say no to the Darkling or Chaol Westfall either. I won’t be picky.

7. WHAT AUTHOR WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE ON YOUR BLOG?

ALL OF THEM. But… if you keep you eyes peeled on my blog on the 12th of September, there may be a post from Samantha Shannon…

8. WHAT DO YOU WEAR WHEN YOU WRITE YOUR BLOG POSTS?

Pyjamas. I’m all class, guys. All class.

9. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO PREPARE?

For my blog posts? Or are you referring to my satanic rituals? Really, it just depends. Sometimes I can bang out a blog posts in half an hour, and miraculously find pictures I like to go along with it… and, sometimes, it takes me literally HOURS. So yeah. Just depends.

DSC_0693

10. HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE BOOK BLOGGER COMMUNITY?

Bursting with pride/joy/love. You guys are amazing.

11. WHAT DO YOU THINK ONE SHOULD DO TO GET A SUCCESSFUL BLOG?

WELL. I wouldn’t consider myself to be very “popular”, so I’m not sure I’m exactly qualified to answer this question, but… Be yourself! Oh that was dreadfully cliche, wasn’t it? BUT ALSO VERY TRUE. Don’t be someone you’re not. Be who you are, and be proud of that.

Wherein I tag . . . 

Sorry if you’ve already been tagged!

Jeann @ Happy Indulgence || Kelly @ Diva Booknerd || Eugenia @ Genie in a Book || Skye @ Spontaneous Outpourings


Having a blogging slump is the WORST. What are your tips from getting over them? Also: how long have you been blogging… and do you think you’d ever stop?

Twitter | Tumblr | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’ | Instagram


16 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

  1. The blogosphere and lovely comments are definitely my favorite parts of blogging too Kara. There are just so many sweet and intelligent people out there and it’s amazing that the internet allows us to all connect; even if we’re thousands of miles away.

    And ugh…there’s nothing worse then being burnt out. :/ So many times I want to post something, but I just can’t think of what, you know? It’s such a bad feeling.

    Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post & answers! <3 (Definitely LOL'd at your satanic rituals by the way – I think that made my week.)

  2. Loved reading your answers, I can definitely tell you love blogging and what you do, I mean it’s all of those 3 things that make up the bulk of it and if you don’t enjoy any of those things, it wouldn’t help. And yes, making your own graphics and photos would be the most time consuming too! But I can definitely tell the quality <3 Thanks for the tag Kara!

  3. Comments and writing are definitely my favorite parts of blogging too :) And I’ve been burnt-out for the first time since i started blogging and you’re right, a break is the best medicine.

    Your pyjamas sound too classy for blogging though, you should be wearing something more casual like suspenders and bowties :| And I was secretly hoping for your satanic ritual secrets but ah well, maybe next time!

  4. Awesome post Kara and thanks for the tag :) Lighting can *definitely* be an issue when taking book photos – and lately I’ve found taking photos of books outside has been a good remedy for that as well. Comments do certainly make the whole experience that much more special, it’s nice to engage with your blog readers in that way.

  5. Oooh, I also just did this tag. I pretty much do the same thing when I go through a blogging slump – try not to stress about it and go do something else until I feel more enthusiastic about it. I definitely agree – having ideas but no time or energy to realize them is the WORST. But all the amazing comments and people and the writing itself make up for it! :)

Leave a Reply

