NaNoWriMo Update: Week Two + Stacking the Shelves

So, it’s week two of NaNoWriMo. Also known as the “OH MY GOSH FRAYED COPYEDITS ARE DUE NEXT WEEK” week. I’m around the 10k 308401346646075_a-edd2df17__ANHVg_pmmark (so in other words: so, so behind), but like last post, I’m trying not to dwell too much on the fact we’re almost halfway through NaNo, and I’ve hardly written any words. (Which is super-super unusual for me, FYI. Usually around the 14th/15th mark I’ve already FINISHED NaNo.)

Instead, I’m focusing on edits until they’re sent into my editors, then I’ll turn full attention into getting this novel DONE.

Like I talked about last post, I’m still SO obsessed with this idea. I love my story and my characters, and even though I’m painfully behind, I haven’t quite reached that stage of: “Oh My Gosh Why Did I Ever Decide to Do This?” Thank god. Obviously, one of my maaaaaajoooor inspirations for this one was fariytales, and I’m so enamoured by the artworks of Edmund Dulac and Errol Le Cain. Seriously. So far, they’ve inspired me so, so much this far in the novel. In fact, Errol Le Cain’s “Thorn Rose” was what inspired me in the first place—and from there, my love of fairytales and fantasy slowly developed into my NaNoWriMo story. Pinterest for me is SUCH an inspiration, and from there I discovered Edmund Dulac. A similar artist to Errol Le Cain, but my gosh, JUST as gorgeous.

Basically, even though NaNo hasn’t been going the way I wanted this year—I still love my story, and I’ll be focusing on it a lot more in the week ahead. So fingers crossed next week’ll be muuuuuuuuuch more productive.

NaNoWriMo aside, I’ve acquired some more books this week, too.

DSC_0386

  • THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE by Patrick Ness
  • THE GOOD GIRLS by Sara Shepard
  • PRINCE’S GAMBIT by C.S Pacat
  • REAWAKEND by Colleen Houk
  • EMMY & OLIVER by Robin Benway
  • DUMPLIN’ by Julie Murphy
  • HAPPILY EVER AFTER by Kiera Cass
  • GAME OF LOVE AND DEATH by Martha Brockenbrough
  • ICE LIKE FIRE by Sara Raasch
  • THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher

So in other words, I’m struggling to choose which book to read next—and I’m leaning more toward ICE LIKE FIRE, because gosh, I loved the first book so much.


17 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update: Week Two + Stacking the Shelves

  1. Good luck with both editing and NaNoWriMo! I have sadly reached the why did I ever decide to do this? Point of NaNoWriMo, so I decided to give lots of characters violet, bloody deaths in order to kickstart my muse (RIP, Julian, Maya, Grayson, Flora, and Zack). It worked rather well.

    I was super excited about the Improbable Theory of Ana and Zach, but I was annoyed throughout the whole book ’cause WashingCon is the comic con in Washington D.C. Emerald City Comicon is the one in Seattle.

  2. Good luck with copy edits. It’s getting closer and closer. I’m not having much luck with NANO either. I made a little progress but then life got super busy and i have slipped so far behind that I don’t think I’ll be able to catch up at this point. I’m not going to push myself, just write as much as I can, when I can. Your NANO project sounds very intriguing.

  3. aHHHH COPY EDITS AFJDKSALFDJ I think they’re definitely the priority so hey, even if NaNo doesn’t work out WHO CARES YOU’RE GONNA HAVE A BOOK ON THE SHELVES. *hyperventilates quietly* I seriously cannot wait for this. XD
    And squee!! Dumplin! I love that book. And I adored The Game of Love and Death. It was nearly Book Thief level of awesome for me. :’)

  4. Eeek! Copy edits! How nerve-wracking and exciting at the same time! I’m so happy you’re loving your NaNo story, even if you’re not where you want to be with it. As Cait said, I definitely think your copy edits are the priority – it’s so amazing you’re going to be published not so far in the future!

    Also, seeing your stacking the shelves reminds me how much I’ve missed since I stopped blogging in March…Ice Like Fire is out now?! I feel like Snow Like Ashes only just came out!

    • Exactly!! Literally the whole time I was doing copyedits I was thinking–“Oh my gosh people will be READING this soon!?!” Copyedits are now done, so I’ve been able to focus on NaNo a bit more … but my motivation is lacking, haha.

      I so miss your blogging, Ebony! But yeah, this year has seriously been FLYING past.

  5. NaNo is insanely difficult which is why I dropped out this year but the feeling of winning is the best so hold onto that. Kara I believe in yuuuuuu.

    I’ll be doing NaNo next year, when my life isn’t so hectic! AND OMG I REMEMBER YOU’RE GETTING PUBLISHED SO EXCITED FOR YOU GIRL

  6. YAAAAAAAAAAAY! One step closer to publishing! It’s all so exciting Kara, how are you even containing yourself? I’d be peeing excitedly all over the place like a deranged cocker spaniel. I could never attempt Nano even if I did give writing a go. It’s just too stressful and I really couldn’t cope with giving myself deadlines, someone only need rattle a bit of foil in front of me and I’d be off for hours amused by it.

    ICE LIKE FIRE! I adored book one as well and bought a copy too not long ago. I’m bracing myself to read it soon (after I get through a few more review copies) and hope it’s just as epic as book one. really looking forward to seeing what you think of it <3 <3

    • I don’t even KNOW, Kelly! So freakishly excited (and, yeah, okay–mildly terrified too) to think that people will be reading it soon. :) I actually LOVE the whole deadline thing (I know, I’m totally crazy) but yes, it can kinda get stressful if you put too much pressure of yourself to do well/write faster.

      Fingers crossed we love it as much as the first!

  7. Ee, wonderful book haul! Hope you enjoy Ice Like Fire~
    Crossing my fingers you’ll be productive the coming week, too! I know NaNoWriMo can get kinda stressful at times, but don’t let that deter you from completing your goal!

Leave a Reply

