FRAYED Pages, and Other Things

So, as I’m writing this, I’m currently looking over pass pages for FRAYED (which is, basically, the last chance I’ll have to make any last minute changes and tweaks, and fix errors.) It’s actually a lot more nerve-wracking than I thought—it’s so, so close until people will be reading it, and let’s face it: that’s terrifying. And exciting. By the way: if you do request a copy of FRAYED on Netgalley—which will probably be available for request sometime March—it might be the version that still has errors, I’m not 100% sure.

It’s really surreal, going through FRAYED for the last time. This is a novel I’ve been working on for over four years now, and… oh my god. It’s a real book. (I still literally cannot get over this fact.) I plan on talking some more about my debut in the future—but for now, you guys can read the GREAT synopsis that the team at SourcebooksFire put together.

97814926317361My therapist tells me I should write you a letter. Like flushing all my thoughts and feelings out of my system and onto paper. I tell her it’s a stupid idea.

But here I am, writing a letter to a dead girl. Where do I start? Where did our story begin? From the moment you were born…or died?

I’ll start with the moment I found out the truth about you. Your lies and my pain. Because it always begins and ends with you.
And that end began when Rafe Lawrence came back to town…

Ava Hale will do anything to find her sister’s killer…although she’ll wish she hadn’t. Because the harder Ava looks, the more secrets she uncovers about Kesley, and the more she begins to think that the girl she called sister was a liar. A sneak. A stranger.

And Kesley’s murderer could be much closer than she thought…

A debut novel from Wattpad award-winner Kara Terzis, Frayed is a psychological whodunit that will keep you guessing!

Speaking of, you can now add FRAYED on Goodreads!! And, as always, you can pre-order FRAYED on a heap of online retailers like  Amazon, IndieBound, the Book DepositoryBarnes & Noble & Books-A-Million. The official release day is June 7th. 

For those who are music-listeners, how would you feel about me putting together a Spotify playlist with the music I listened to when writing/editing?

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 10.50.12 PM

In other writing news, I’ve also been working a lot on MIDNIGHT QUEEN, my YA Firebird meets Beauty and the Beast novel, which I utterly LOVE and is almost DONE. I aim to have it finished by the end of February so I can work on the #23638226428 ideas that I’m dying to write.

Recently read & loved: CLARIEL by Garth Nix; EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING by Nicola Yoon. I think I can easily say that CLARIEL is my favorite of Garth Nix’s series (which is saying something—I’ve loved the entire Old Kingdom thus far): Clariel was badass, independent, and completely able to kick some serious ass by herself. EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING was a book I went into rather… cautiously. I didn’t know what I’d think of it—it has such a unique premise, and it definitely lived up to the hype, and what I’d expected from it.

At the moment, I’m reading LEGACY OF KINGS, and I’m absolutely LOVING IT. If you like ancient history blended beautifully with fantasy, this one is totally for you.

On top of that, I’ve added to my to-be-read list, yet again…

DSC_0998

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING by Nicola Yoon / ENDURE by Sara B. Larson / SHADOWSHAPER by Daniel José Older / WINTER by Marissa Meyer / FALLS THE SHADOW by Stefanie Gaither / LADY HELEN AND THE DARK DAYS CLUB by Alison Goodman

What have you been reading lately?

108 days until FRAYED!


 

30 thoughts on “FRAYED Pages, and Other Things

  1. OMG OMG OMG!!! CONGRATULATIONS!! I’m soooooo excited for you!! I’m definitely buying a finished copy when its out since I don’t have any electronic reading devices. EEEK, and it sounds so interesting. Can’t wait for it!

  2. Frayed is totally added to my Goodreads. I am super psyched to read this. The blurb is amazing. Can’t wait to read it. Also so cool you are almost done with your other book!! Glad you enjoyed Everything, Everything! I really thought it was cute. Have a great week!!

  3. That is so exciting Kara, it’s getting so close and it’s exciting that it will be on Netgalley! Best of luck for the release. I haven’t read Garth Nix’s books either although I have a few of them on my shelves. Your next novel sounds awesome!

  4. I’m so excited for Frayed! Those thriller / mystery / whodunit seem to so rare in YA lately since Dangerous Girls really, you’ll be filling a hole in my life Kara <3 I'd love a playlist! I usually listen to Spotify while I'm typing up reviews and always looking for something new to listen to.

    I can't wait for Frayed and good luck with the final edits poppet <3

  5. Okaaaaaay … but MIDNIGHT QUEEN is the best title ever and I want to read it already. And of course Frayed is already on my Goodreads TBR!!! Plus a Spotify playlist would be the best thing ever. All the best with pass pages!!!!! (Wow, I am using a lot of exclamation points in this comment. But I am ALL THE EXCITE.)

  6. AHHHH 108 DAYSSSSSS. *flails* I cannot wait. And squee, it’s going to be on netgalley. *continues flailing* Although I’m 100% buying a copy when it comes out. AHEM. SO YEAH. Omg. Congrats to you! And I hope the pressure doesn’t drive you insane. XD
    Also that is such a nice looking stack of books. :’) Legacy of Kings is AMAZING and I’m very excited for the sequel. Also Winter. <33 Good luck with that beast. It's totally worth it (although honestly I think it could've been a little shorter, hehe).

  7. Exciting! I can’t even imagine how you must feel. Good luck!

    I just finished A Gathering of Shadows (which was AMAZING) and now I’m reading the Lunar Chronicles, so I guess I’ll catch up to Winter soon!

  8. That’s so exciting your book is almost published! I can imagine that must feel surreal that the book you’ve been working on for four years is now finally published! Good luck with everything! The blurb sounds intriguing!

Leave a Reply

